Seven Grain Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was a very good recipe. I liked it much better than even the 7-grain recipe that came with my bread machine. It is very dense though. Next time I will try to come up with a way to make it a bit more fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
A little heavy, but still quite good, especially warm with honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This will definitely be a staple at my house! I made it without a bread machine, so I was guessing at some of the process, but it turned out great. I proofed the yeast with the honey and water, mixed everything but the flours and cereal together and added that to the yeast, then added the whole wheat flour, half the white flour, and the cereal (I used Bob's Red Mill 8 Grain). I added the rest of the white flour until the dough wasn't sticky (and I actually had to use about 1/2 cup more). I boiled some water in a kettle and then put the dough in a cold oven with the open kettle to rise, since the warmth and humidity seems to make dough rise perfectly. Then I punched it down, shaped it into two 1-pound loaves, and let it rise again. I cooked it at 375 for about 20 minutes and had two perfect, beautiful, soft, and delicious loaves. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This has become our household bread. I love it and so do the kids! I sub an add'l cup of wheat flour for the white and add 2 tsp of wheat gluten. I also bake it in the oven. After the 1st rise in the bread machine on the wheat cycle I take it out and divide into two loaves. I let it rise for another 30 to 40 minutes and then bake at 375 degrees for about 40 minutes. I'm making another loaf as I write this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Recovery, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coldwater, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This is the best bread machine recipe I've found yet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I needed three loaves of bread so I tripled this recipe and made it by hand instead of w/ the machine. I did alter just a couple of things. I cut the white flour down to 2 c. and added 1/2c. of rye flour and I used flax seed oil instead of the veg. oil. Otherwise, when I did knead it, it seemed to need more white flour than was called for in the recipe but then I was making it by hand. My Aunt who taught me how to make bread always said to stick two fingers into the dough and if they don't come out "sticky" you're done kneading. The loaves turned out wonderful with great texture and flavor and they rose beautifully! I think I've found a new, favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I really wanted to make this bread, especially since it was recommended to me by another Allrecipes user! I left out the egg like another reviewer suggested, but only because I had already started making the bread before I realized that I needed one, and I was out. (Mental note to self: read the complete recipe before making!) Anyway, I also used 10 grain cereal and a little milk (because of the no egg thing). I brushed it with melted butter before baking. And after it was finished, I let it cool for a few minutes, then put it in a plastic food storage bag to keep the crust soft. This is a wonderful bread! I can't wait to make it again! (With the egg, of course.) And, I will surely make it again and again! It is much better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
The taste was good, but the texture turned out very coarse and dry. Like others, mine also fell, which was probably the reason for the coarse texture. When I adjusted the ingredients for high altitude (we live at 7000 ft.), I forgot to adjust the water; that was more than likely the problem. I might make it again or perhaps try the other Seven Grain recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
this is a very nice bread soft and good flavor. and the 7 grains is so nice I've made it so much we prefer it over any store brand... thank you for sharing we just love it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This is a staple in our household. After much experimentation and sunken loaves, my husband dropped the egg and increased the liquid a tiny bit, and it's nearly perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States