Seven Flavor Hamburger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was excellent. I served this open faced and topped with a little shredded cheese. The meat was very tangy and had a great sloppy joe flavor without being too spicy. This was not bland either. We enjoyed our meal. Thanks for sharing this, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by NMChef1
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Hmmm, I was about to give this a 3-star (just okay) rating, but then again I did wolf it all down in two meals, so I guess it was pretty good in my book, and I'll give it 4 stars after all. Like previous reviews have said, this is basically Sloppy Joes with a bit of a tang. I only had small hamburger buns, so this made 8 buns' worth, plus a few more spoonfuls. I made it exactly as the recipe states, and it came out pretty saucy. (The main picture on the recipe page seems to show it as being a lot drier.) If I made this again, I probably would cook it longer in order to get rid of a lot of liquid in the sauce. The sauce was pretty sweet to me, maybe a little too sweet. Also, celery is one of my least favorite vegetables (I find it boring and tasteless, not awful). Since I'd never really cooked with it, I thought I'd made a mistake when I brought "Celery Hearts" home, but then I learned that they're just the innermost ribs of the celery, so they were probably okay for this recipe. I was surprised that all the cooking left the chopped celery still crunchy. I'd personally skip that ingredient next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Good meal, especially with a house full of teen boys. They inhaled them. I did leave out the sugar & used less ketchup because of it's sugar content. My husband has diabetes, but we all loved them on a good whole wheat bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
This was really easy to make, and pretty tasty. Not an overly exciting dish, but with the ease of prep and ingredients on hand, deserves 5 stars from me. Didn't change a thing with the recipe. My husband ate it as a sloppy joe, and I ate mine over egg noodles. Great leftovers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Loved this recipe did add a couple of things. We like foods hot and spicy but with flavor and so with some tobasco and crushed red pepper this did the trick. It is also extremely good for a big gathering as a hotdog sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jvfalcon
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Very tasty! I had used some of my leftover homemade gravy (or meat sauce for some), which is very thick, instead of a jar of tomato sauce, so I didn't have to let it simmer for the 20 minutes. I also had to substitute the white vinegar for red wine because I didn't have any on hand. It turned out very good and will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Simple to make and good flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was very very good! I used 97% fat free ground turkey. This was easy and the family really liked it. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Solimar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Kind of like Manwich but with a nice tang to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Great flavor and easy...much better than canned or packaged...loved the tangy flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States