Sesame Udon Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I hate to cook...no really, you have no idea how much I hate cooking. I tried the recipe out of desperation to use what few ingredients I had on hand...one being a large bag of Udon noodles, of which I cooked enough for this to be a whole meal. Everyone in our home from the youngest child to both parents (dh is a great cook unlike myself) LOVED this recipe! I only had a couple green peppers on hand and a zucchini, so that's what I used for vegetables. I didn't have fresh ginger, so I used about 3tsp powdered ginger. I kept the dressing separate to add as desired. I can't wait to use this recipe again and try it with other vegetables, but I think the squash might be hard to beat. I also did not use any hot sauce because only my dh likes it, but even he opted not to add any because the flavor was perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
very good. simple and quick. I did leave out the garlic because I have a sensitivity to it and I also used vegetable oil in place of the peanut oil because we have a child with a nut allergy. For the veggies I used 1/2 a yellow pepper and 1/2 an orange (both bell) and 2 cups of green beans because I didn't have any of the veggies on hand, but the yellow bell pepper. It was really really good. I also used organic DRY udon noodles because it was what i had in the cabinet. yum! will make again with all kinds of veggie substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I read the reviews first and made the following changes to the dressing: 1) used only 2 T sesame oil and no peanut oil, 2) added 1/4 t red pepper flakes and 1/2 t Sriracha hot sauce 3) added about 3/4 t sugar 4) used low-sodium soy sauce. I thought it was very good, not too oily or too hot despite the extra heat I added. This recipe is versatile and can be adjusted according to what kinds of veggies and noodles you have on hand. I will be making this all summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
too oily in the mouth and too much sesame oil - but the flavor was amazing! i plan on using it to marinade steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Anything can go in your noodles/veggies mixture. What I came for was the dressing. I didn't have any fresh ginger on hand so I used ginger powder instead. It's alright. You dont' taste the ginger. I had done it one other time with fresh ginger and it tasted much better. There seemed to be a lot of sauce though. I spooned mine in my udon / veggy mixture... I think maybe I put 8 dinner spoons in (that's right.. I used a dinner spoon because my measuring spoon was in the sink)... And I have like 1/2 cup left! Overall, not bad. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
My husband and I are becoming vegetarians and loved this meal. I would add more veggies next time just to make it a little more filling... and I agree any veggies would really work in this meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I doubled everything except the dressing and it was still too oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This recipe is versatile enough to allow substitutions for the veggies. However, it was too oily and vinegary for my taste. I didn't see why the 1/4 cup of oil was necessary at all. The sesame oil gave the flavor and it was enough (with the toasted sesame seeds). Hadn't used udon noodles before and DID like them. Hubby like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
i also found that the recipe needed twice the amount of udon noodles to go with the amount of dressing. i used cayenne pepper for the hot element, and added julienned carrots. definitely let it chill for a couple of hours to let the flavours meld. end result: delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seal Cove, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I used two pkgs. of udon noodles and that seemed about right for the amount of dressing. I also substituted part olive/part safflower oil for peanut oil due to allergies. I added quite a bit more thana dash of hot pepper sauce and it wasn't too hot. I LOVED the ginger in the dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States