Sesame Udon Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2004
YUM! I used peapods instead of snap peas (bought the wrong ones) ,added about 1/3 of a large cucumber cut into thin matchstick pieces and some shredded carrot. Guess you could really use any vegetables that you would put into a stirfry. Next time I will add some leftover chicken or shrimp. Thanks for the recipe, Baja!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
Very tasty and oh so easy! I used two packages of udon, though, I can't imagine how one would be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
I prepared this exactly as directed, and it was delicious! I served it with teriyaki sesame tofu and pre-packaged eggrolls. This is very easy, very quicky, healthy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
This was much better tasting after it sat in the fridge for a day. I liked it but my husband wasn't wild about it-- said it had too much seasame flavor, which was weird because I thought the heavy flavor was the vinegar. Anyway, I prepared this as listed, with the only change being that it was an 8 oz. package of noodles cooked to pkg. directions (5 minutes), and I tossed some pre-cooked shrimp (tails trimmed off) in with the noodles while they were cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
This just really didn't do it for us. We thought the vinegar gave it an unpleasant tang. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
I used the recipe for the sauce, but thats all. I threw completely different vegetables in the wok to cook, then the sauce, then cooked (dried packet) udon noodles. The sauce flavor was fantastic - we ate this dish on its own as a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
This is an excellent dish! It's just tangy enough, and the sesame seeds balance out the tang of garlic and ginger. I added extra toasted sesame seeds. :D Make sure you don't have too much sauce in proportion to the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Dee-licious! I followed the recipe almost exactly, with the following exceptions: I used 1/8 cup almond oil instead of 1/4 cup peanut oil; I marinated the veggies in the dressing and had them raw (I generally eat veggies raw for their enzymes and higher nutrient value). The flavors and textures were wonderful, with ginger being predominant. The only thing I'd change is next time I'll use a little more hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I thought this was a really tasty recipe, especially on this very hot and sticky day. Due to peanut allergies I used canola oil and added a bit of sugar to the dressing. In addition to the vegies listed, I also added cabbage and baby spinach. Leftover chicken helped to make this meal complete. I used four packages of Ramen noodles, which made a lot, but just about all of it was eaten. Gang obviously loved this dish cat and we all thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by oftheaprilbirds
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I made this tonight and it turned out really well. It's great because it doesn't take much time to prepare and you can use pretty much any veggies (fresh or frozen) that you have on hand. I would reccomend pouring a little bit of the dressing on at a time because it ended up being a bit to oily for me. That aside, a great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States