Sesame Udon Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I read the reviews first and made the following changes to the dressing: 1) used only 2 T sesame oil and no peanut oil, 2) added 1/4 t red pepper flakes and 1/2 t Sriracha hot sauce 3) added about 3/4 t sugar 4) used low-sodium soy sauce. I thought it was very good, not too oily or too hot despite the extra heat I added. This recipe is versatile and can be adjusted according to what kinds of veggies and noodles you have on hand. I will be making this all summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
too oily in the mouth and too much sesame oil - but the flavor was amazing! i plan on using it to marinade steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Anything can go in your noodles/veggies mixture. What I came for was the dressing. I didn't have any fresh ginger on hand so I used ginger powder instead. It's alright. You dont' taste the ginger. I had done it one other time with fresh ginger and it tasted much better. There seemed to be a lot of sauce though. I spooned mine in my udon / veggy mixture... I think maybe I put 8 dinner spoons in (that's right.. I used a dinner spoon because my measuring spoon was in the sink)... And I have like 1/2 cup left! Overall, not bad. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
My husband and I are becoming vegetarians and loved this meal. I would add more veggies next time just to make it a little more filling... and I agree any veggies would really work in this meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I doubled everything except the dressing and it was still too oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This recipe is versatile enough to allow substitutions for the veggies. However, it was too oily and vinegary for my taste. I didn't see why the 1/4 cup of oil was necessary at all. The sesame oil gave the flavor and it was enough (with the toasted sesame seeds). Hadn't used udon noodles before and DID like them. Hubby like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
i also found that the recipe needed twice the amount of udon noodles to go with the amount of dressing. i used cayenne pepper for the hot element, and added julienned carrots. definitely let it chill for a couple of hours to let the flavours meld. end result: delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I used two pkgs. of udon noodles and that seemed about right for the amount of dressing. I also substituted part olive/part safflower oil for peanut oil due to allergies. I added quite a bit more thana dash of hot pepper sauce and it wasn't too hot. I LOVED the ginger in the dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I didn't have quite everythign on hand. I used a white onion in place fo the green ones, and broccoli instead of the peas. It was good, but Snow Peas or Snap Peas would have been better. I really liked the dressing, though I skimped on the oil a little. The only other thing I changed, was to saute all the veggies along with the sesame seeds in a skillet instead of using the microwave. I've printed this recipe to add to my regular rotation! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Was quite tasty. We didn't have any peanut oil so I used some creamy peanut butter instead. I think I will like it better with the oil. I also added some rice cooking wine. I will probably be adding cubed tofu to it next go round but all round a solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreygan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Hiyashi Chuka Noodles

Japanese-inspired chilled noodle and vegetable salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States