Sesame Udon Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2004
YUM! I used peapods instead of snap peas (bought the wrong ones) ,added about 1/3 of a large cucumber cut into thin matchstick pieces and some shredded carrot. Guess you could really use any vegetables that you would put into a stirfry. Next time I will add some leftover chicken or shrimp. Thanks for the recipe, Baja!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
i also found that the recipe needed twice the amount of udon noodles to go with the amount of dressing. i used cayenne pepper for the hot element, and added julienned carrots. definitely let it chill for a couple of hours to let the flavours meld. end result: delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seal Cove, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
I prepared this exactly as directed, and it was delicious! I served it with teriyaki sesame tofu and pre-packaged eggrolls. This is very easy, very quicky, healthy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Dee-licious! I followed the recipe almost exactly, with the following exceptions: I used 1/8 cup almond oil instead of 1/4 cup peanut oil; I marinated the veggies in the dressing and had them raw (I generally eat veggies raw for their enzymes and higher nutrient value). The flavors and textures were wonderful, with ginger being predominant. The only thing I'd change is next time I'll use a little more hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
wonderful! super easy and super tasty! like other reviewers i added a little more hot sauce and quickly tossed the veggies on a wok (since i like the taste of raw veggies). also i've only tried this recipe with buckwheat and soba noodles but i think the buckwheat noodles tasted better! it made the dish much more substantial plus they're healthier than udon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Loved this dish! The vinegar does give it a sharp taste, but the oil mellows it out. My company loved the bold/asian flavours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I didn't have quite everythign on hand. I used a white onion in place fo the green ones, and broccoli instead of the peas. It was good, but Snow Peas or Snap Peas would have been better. I really liked the dressing, though I skimped on the oil a little. The only other thing I changed, was to saute all the veggies along with the sesame seeds in a skillet instead of using the microwave. I've printed this recipe to add to my regular rotation! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I used two pkgs. of udon noodles and that seemed about right for the amount of dressing. I also substituted part olive/part safflower oil for peanut oil due to allergies. I added quite a bit more thana dash of hot pepper sauce and it wasn't too hot. I LOVED the ginger in the dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
My husband and I are becoming vegetarians and loved this meal. I would add more veggies next time just to make it a little more filling... and I agree any veggies would really work in this meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I hate to cook...no really, you have no idea how much I hate cooking. I tried the recipe out of desperation to use what few ingredients I had on hand...one being a large bag of Udon noodles, of which I cooked enough for this to be a whole meal. Everyone in our home from the youngest child to both parents (dh is a great cook unlike myself) LOVED this recipe! I only had a couple green peppers on hand and a zucchini, so that's what I used for vegetables. I didn't have fresh ginger, so I used about 3tsp powdered ginger. I kept the dressing separate to add as desired. I can't wait to use this recipe again and try it with other vegetables, but I think the squash might be hard to beat. I also did not use any hot sauce because only my dh likes it, but even he opted not to add any because the flavor was perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States