Sesame Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This was tasty and easy to prepare, and my husband and I enjoyed it, so I'll definitely be making it again. I was a little wary of using Italian seasoning after reading some of the reviews, but we thought it was a nice blend of flavors. I do have a few suggestions, though: (1) 1/4 cup of oil for 2 4-oz fillets of tilapia is MUCH TOO MUCH oil! Using half that amount still provides you with enough flavor and gives you enough liquid to drizzle over the top after it's done cooking. (2) Just marinade the fish in the same (non-metal) dish you're going to cook it in - one less dish to clean and easier than pouring oil from one dish to another. (3) Definitely sprinkle some toasted sesame seeds on top of the fish - adds good texture and additional flavor. You can buy pre-roasted seeds in well-stocked grocery stores in the asian food aisle (look for it with the sushi making ingredients). (4) Try to use actual sesame oil and not just vegetable oil infused with sesame flavor - it's a much richer taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I don't care for fish, but I love the taste of sesame oil. This is a fish I will make again. I definitely enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Thirty minutes is way too long for this fish--it came out crispy which is not what I was expecting for baked fish, and I only left it in for about 20-25 minutes! Plus, the marinade really didn't sink into the fish all that well, so the flavor was lackluster--bland, in spite of my adding some powdered ginger towards the end along with roasted sesame seeds. I might play again with this recipe but it won't be anytime soon. My husband suggested that next time I could add a little white wine for moisture, but he also thought thirty minutes would still be way too long for such a light fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This was really good. I followed the recipe precisely. A word of caution, I didn't have enough tilapia, so I decided to use some salmon as well. But the salmon didn't go well with this recipe. Stick with Tilapia. You won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
this was great. the family really loved this one. very quick and easy. will keep this as a regular!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I really enjoyed the flavor of this recipe. I think I might sprinkle some sesame seeds on top next time. For a nice presentation use black and white sesame seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This dish is perfect as-is, & fortunately I was able to marinate the tilapia for several hours. Served with a side of steamed asparagus and, as a bed, a slightly simplified version of Red Chard and Caramelized Onions [from this site], the plates looked gorgeous & my family raved about the combination. Thanks so very much, Demi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
so easy and fast to make. my 2 year old even loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I slightly modified the recipe by using Mongolian fire oil. I did a marinade in that and then dipped the 2 filet's in seasoned bread crumbs. Baked them for 30 mins in a small dish with a touch of olive oil. Served alongside sweet corn and some seasoned veggies. The fish was tender and moist. Great simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I would give this recipe between a 2 and a 3. There is nothing specifically wrong with the recipe it's just very bland and I prefer more flavor in my cooking. I followed suggestion to marinate longer and marinated for 24 hrs. It still came out quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States