Sesame Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This was a desperation recipe for me and it turned out great. I put six frozen tilapia filets into a ziploc bag, added about a half cup of sesame oil, a packet and a half of Italian seasoning, a sprinkling of salt and pepper and 3 cloves of minced garlic, then shook the bag up and let the filets marinate and defrost at the same time inside the bag in a sinkful of cold water for an hour. Baked them for 22 minutes and they were perfectly done. My family LOVED them and they had plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Very, very nice recipe. We love the subtle flavor that sesame oil gives. A couple of things: I used that lemon pepper shake that you can buy for seafood rather than the Italian seasoning which I thought would clash with the sesame. Worked wonderfully. Also, I sprinkled toasted sesame seeds on the top. Be careful not to overcook and you've got a 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
THIS RECIPE WAS A HUGE HIT - and my family is extremely finicky. But, I did do a few things differently than the recipe called for. I used fresh herbs (oregano, basil, and parsley) and dried rosemary (but not much). I put everything in a dish when I was making the marinade, then transferred it all to a ziplock bag and put in the refrigerator. I made sure all pieces of fish were coated with the marinade and turned it (the bag) and massaged the fish every 30 minutes for an hour and a half - this was to make sure every peice was good and coated with all of the herbs and spices. Then I took the fish out of the refrigerator, brushed all of the excess marinade (from inside the bag) onto the fish with a basting brush and enclosed all of the fish in an aluminum foil "tent" and put it in a glass baking dish. The fish fell apart when it was done (about 40 minutes at 345- 350) and the juices were inside the foil bag with the fish. I WILL DEFINATELY MAKE THIS AGAIN! BRAVO to the creator of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This was very tasty. I didn't use the exact amount of seasonings or oil ( just sort of sprinkled on what looked right). The only addition I made was to sprinkle the fish with sesame seeds before baking. Next time I think I am going to try marinating this overnite. The sesame taste was nice and mild and seemed to pair with the fish well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Instead of baking this, I put it on my Foreman grill for 4 minutes, and it came out just right. Surprisingly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This is a winner! I added twice as much garlic and a little more Italian Seasoning. I baked at 400 for about 12 minutes and it turned out just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I loved this recipe. I did make one change when I made it. I also added some ginger to it. I love the flavor of garlic and ginger together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
A simple, tasty easy to make dish...what more could you want. I've tried it twice; once without the sesame oil and once without the Italian seasoning. Both worked very nicely, although using both tends to confuse the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
If you are in a hurry...this one is a good choice. I didn't marinade in advance, and I did decrease the sesame oil by about half. I couldn't believe how simple and delicious this was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEANNA
Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Flavorful and light. I added sliced green onions to the oil mixture and marinated only an hour. The fish was flaking nicely after only about 16 minutes. Looked great with fresh minced basil and and parsley. Excellent recipe and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States