Sesame Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
We weren't huge fans of this. For one thing, the flavor of sesame oil is altered by heating; it loses its tang and flattens out. I knew this all along, which makes me wonder why I decided to make this in the first place, but I think I just didn't look closely at the ingredients list. There's really nothing in the marinade but sesame oil and a few spices. Basically, you're baking the fish in oil (and not cheap oil, by the way, and this recipe uses a LOT of it). Which would be fine if the end result was delicious, but we found it just sort of bland and oily. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
My husband is on a low-sodium diet, so I cut out the salt, and guess what? Still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaityDunks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Not a big hit. Although the taste was okay, the texture was not. It was cooked to the point of flaking with a fork, but still seemed wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Sorry but we didn't like this. I followed the recipe to the T but it came out very oily. No bueno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Sweetness

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coarsegold, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Simple. Quick. Delicious. What more could you possibly want?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I was looking for a simple, tasty recipe that didn't require breading or a trip to the store for ingredients. This was fast, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This was very bland and no one in my family enjoyed this although we ate it since it was "okay enough." I prepared this identical to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragon Roll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I thought this was very good. I was shocked at how insanely expensive sesame oil is though. Due to this one thing, I probably won't make it again, but it really tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
It's not that great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I found this recipe at the last minute and had to make a couple of modifications. I didn't have itailian seasoning so I used low sodium seasonal. I presoaked the fish in milk, then rinsed, while I mixed the marinade. Same marinate and cooking time/temp, but I covered with foil. When it was finished I sprinkled black sesame seeds for look and let sit for about 10 minutes (mainly cuz hubby wasn't ready yet). Oh, and I had 4 fillets so I doubled the recipe, maybe could have used just a little less oil, but it was really yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States