Sesame Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Such great flavor and the fish were so moist. I used 3 small cloves of garlic and turned into a paste with a little salt. Then combined all the ingredients and brushed over the fish. They only got about 10 minutes of marinating time but turned out great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HEATHERSCUCINA
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Perfect recipe for Tilapia! I marinated in ziplock bag, per other's suggestions. I ran out of sesame oil and only had just over 1/8 cup for 4 fillets - was totally fine and will make it the same way next time. Paired with Homemade Basil noodles and topped with wilted baby spinach and toasted almonds. My husband called it a "gourmet restaurant quality meal!" Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
One of my alltime favorite recipes, and so easy to make. If you use the very thin, previously frozen filets they get a bit crispy around the edges when baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This recipe was so simple! And it was absolutely delicious. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This was tasty and easy to prepare, and my husband and I enjoyed it, so I'll definitely be making it again. I was a little wary of using Italian seasoning after reading some of the reviews, but we thought it was a nice blend of flavors. I do have a few suggestions, though: (1) 1/4 cup of oil for 2 4-oz fillets of tilapia is MUCH TOO MUCH oil! Using half that amount still provides you with enough flavor and gives you enough liquid to drizzle over the top after it's done cooking. (2) Just marinade the fish in the same (non-metal) dish you're going to cook it in - one less dish to clean and easier than pouring oil from one dish to another. (3) Definitely sprinkle some toasted sesame seeds on top of the fish - adds good texture and additional flavor. You can buy pre-roasted seeds in well-stocked grocery stores in the asian food aisle (look for it with the sushi making ingredients). (4) Try to use actual sesame oil and not just vegetable oil infused with sesame flavor - it's a much richer taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I don't care for fish, but I love the taste of sesame oil. This is a fish I will make again. I definitely enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Thirty minutes is way too long for this fish--it came out crispy which is not what I was expecting for baked fish, and I only left it in for about 20-25 minutes! Plus, the marinade really didn't sink into the fish all that well, so the flavor was lackluster--bland, in spite of my adding some powdered ginger towards the end along with roasted sesame seeds. I might play again with this recipe but it won't be anytime soon. My husband suggested that next time I could add a little white wine for moisture, but he also thought thirty minutes would still be way too long for such a light fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This was really good. I followed the recipe precisely. A word of caution, I didn't have enough tilapia, so I decided to use some salmon as well. But the salmon didn't go well with this recipe. Stick with Tilapia. You won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
this was great. the family really loved this one. very quick and easy. will keep this as a regular!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I really enjoyed the flavor of this recipe. I think I might sprinkle some sesame seeds on top next time. For a nice presentation use black and white sesame seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States