Sesame Shrimp Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
theres only one problem with this recipe. you should never cook in sesame oil!!! its for flavor only! cook in regular vegetable oil or another oil of your choice, but if you use sesame oil to fry in it will be too strong and will burn easily! for the sesame flavor, add a few teaspoons of the sesame oil to the sauce. other than that this is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Can I give this 10 stars?? Excellent dish! Couple changes I made.. I used fresh grated ginger instead of powdered and added some lemon zest to the shrimp. I used 8-12 shrimp per pound then partial way through I butterflied them in half. The larger shrimp the better you are, these things are as succulant as lobster tails!! A+++ recipe, great reviews from guests! Thanks for adding it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
wow...what a yummy recipe! i used canola oil and added a little sesame oil at the end. also, i used about 3/4 tsp of wasabi powder instead of cayenne pepper. also, i substituted fresh ginger pressed through the garlic press and left out the salt. added a little soy sauce too (why not, huh?). i left out the red pepper and added broccoli and sweet onion. i used frozen broccoli and sugar snap peas, but i think i'll use fresh next time and add mushrooms and water chestnuts. my husband and i got some fresh large gulf shrimp and we had no idea what to do with them. thank goodness we found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
This was good and easy. I did change a few things. I added 1/4 cup soy sauce to the spices when I marinated the shrimp. Instead of chicken broth I used about 1/2 cup of rice wine and used about 1 tsp of cornstarch. I also substituted soy sauce for the teriyaki sauce. I used powered ginger, but would love to try this with fresh. It turned out very well. My hubby liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
We liked this dish and consider it a keeper but will make some modifications next time. Agree that the ginger should be fresh and the sesame seeds toasted. We used Hoison sauce instead of the Teriyaki. Next time we will substitute tabasco for the cayenne pepper in the marinade. Will also add cashews for a bit of texture. (This dish paired well with Sauvignon Blanc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BSA650

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Really liked this recipe! It was very easy and has a great flavor. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is that it needs more sauce. Next time I'll just add more teriyaki sauce, and the cornstarch/chicken broth combo. This will definatly become a regular on our menu rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I definitely agree with "WMAQ" regarding the sesame oil issue. I sauteed in canola oil and flavored with the sesame oil. I used packaged frozen stir fried vegies which made this dish finish up very quickly. Instead of the rice, I boiled up some Ramen Noodles and threw them right into the mix. The sesame oil added such a great flavor and hubby gobbled this up like he hadn't been fed in a week! Thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Unnessarily complicated. Why do we need directions for cooking rice. The final result is not worth all those measurements. Just ok for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
This was pretty good ... great for a lunch box together with Tamaki/Koshihikari rice. I made this twice, once with fresh ginger (grated) and the other time with a poweder ginger. Needless to say, fresh ginger tastes much better - the whole dish tastes much tangier. But then once in a while when you feel lazy, you can use powdered ginger, it still tastes okay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I love this recipe and it is my husbands favorite!! It looks harder than it is and once you have cooked it once or twice it gets easier. If you start to cook this and realize you have no cornstarch you can just add a little more sesame seed oil and make it a stir fry!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States