Sesame Seared Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Fantastic - both hubby and kid loved it! Definitely getting quality ahi is key. I didn't have mirin, and used agave nectar instead of honey; also added a tablespoon of Moonstone's Coconut Lemongrass Sake to the dipping sauce. Yum! I marinated for 30 min. each side, and ground black sesame seeds over it after cooking. Garnished with fresh grated daikon radish and sliced green onions. Was requested to "do this meal again!". (Served chirashi sushi with it, and steamed spinach w/soy sauce.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKblumchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I had a problem with the soy sauce burning and smoking up my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AwhhScoob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Vermont, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA
Photo by kira261
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This is the first time I have ever tried to pan sear tuna and it came out great! I got frozen steaks from the store and defrosted them in the microwave. I then let them marinade for an hour before cooking. I used pam instead of the olive oil and omited the mirin. I also added garlic to the sauce. I cooked mine 30 sec on each side and it really did turn out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Made this recipe as-is. It was good but not great. The fish and or sauce needed more zing. Next time I'll try sprinkling chinese 5 spice on the fish first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Awesome, awesome, awesome!!!! The only thing I did different is I marinated them while bringing them to room temp a couple hours before searing. The flavor of the sauce is incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
We used an iron skillet like it said....probably won't do that again. Our sesame seeds burned b/c our skillet was too hot :( All in all though still pretty tasty. I definitely recommend using Mirin. We found a substitute recipe online....not the same. I would also use less sesame oil.....it's WAY TOO oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
My husband and I think this is as good as any restaurant dish! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Incredible -- am so proud of the meal I just made -- thanks for the recipe! I omitted the mirin (tasted great without), and also put the sesame seeds on after searing and added wasami to the dipping sauce as others suggested. Seared on an indoor grill pan at high heat for 1 1/2 minutes per side -- beautiful grill marks and about medium rare. Yum! May add some garlic and fresh grated ginger to sauce next time . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Great flavor. Make sure to mix the marinade super well otherwise the oil seperates. I also cut down the cook time as the tuna should be very rare! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Rust

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States