Sesame Seared Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Pat Tuna very dry, don't marinate - only soak for a minute in sauce. I would not substitute artificial sweetener for honey, turns bitter at high heat. You can substitute cooking sherry for the Kirin without a noticeable difference. Slice thin over crisp salad w/raw veggies and a light ginger/miso dressing for great texture and sweet/salty flavor. If you don't like rare Tuna, open a can, overcooking ruins it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca4Hayes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batesburg-Leesville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This turns out perfect every time. We are low carbers, so we usually replace the honey with Spenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaNae Kopet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Thanks for sharing! Easy & tasty recipe for when one spots great looking ahi tuna at the market. I didn't have and definitely missed the wasabi paste, because without it, the dipping sauce could be a bit cloying to the palate. Served with creamy mashed potatoes and grilled asparagus spears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geezboyz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Amazing!!! I did not have a cast iron skillet so I just used a regular skillet (still amazing). Since then I have purchased a cast iron skillet JUST for the seared tuna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
The sesame seed coating is a great idea. The dipping sauce has too much sesame oil. In fact, I would cut out the sesame oil altogether and substitute ground sesame seeds instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This has now become are favorite. We will have this for friends. Also, it was so easy, easy, easy. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I'm rating this on what my dinner guest thought and not me. I didn't particularly enjoy the recipe, but he thought it was excellent and ate my portion, so I guess it was a hit for a serious tuna lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Wonderfully delicious! I actually combine black sesame seeds with regular sesame seeds and it creates a beautiful presentation. Based on other reviewers, I coat the fish with seeds after I remove it from pan. SAUCE is AWESOME! Sesame oil - love it! It really adds a great taste to the sauce. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook4u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Great Recipe! My husband and I LOVE seafood, and this was SO much easier on out wallet! not to mention quick! I did have to alter it a bit though... I used chili oil instead of the sesame oil, same thing but spicy. Masala wine b/c I figured any sweet wine will have to suffice. Teriyaki sauce from trader joe's instead of the honey, because it just felt right (and I didn't have honey). I added garlic to the mixture that coated the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
this is was excellent!!! i have never made tuna steaks before, and it couldn't get any easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States