Sesame Seared Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I was never able to get ahi tuna cooked right. My husband was a little worried when I announced that I was trying to prepare tuna again. This recipe just hitted the spot! My husband loved it. I will do this many more times again. I used the frozen steaks from Costco and cooked them on a non-stick pan and it worked like magic. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Great recipe! I added just a little more honey to the dipping sauce to kill some of the salt......and it was just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
very very good, really liked the sauce to dip the tuna in, did not have the mirin but did buy some as plan on using this again, I added chopped green onions also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Easy, tasty and fantastic! What more can I say about this dish? Here in Hawaii we can get fresh Ahi everyday as it is part of our local Pacfic Cuisine. Using only the freshest Ahi Tuna can really make a world of difference in this dish. I did marinate the Ahi in the sauce (personal preference). I already had all the ingredients on hand. prep time was easy and approximate. To the soy sauce (I use Aloha Soy Sauce), I added a pinch of freshly grated ginger as well. The wasabi is a must in the dipping sauce because it does add a "kick". I heat the skillet on high heat at first then lower it to medium after I place the Ahi in the pan. I sear the Ahi for a quick 30 seconds or less depending on the thickness of the Ahi and how seared you want it. For myself? I like it a little more raw on the inside...Mmmm. I then serve this with hot steaming rice and a side of, "Tofu Salad," also found on this AR website. I've also eaten this with, "Asian Ginger Dressing," from this site, served on a bed of organic mixed greens. A Tasty, fulfilling and perfect meal! A keeper in my recipe box to use again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Love this recipe. The only thing I changed was to toast the sesame seeds before coating the tuna. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Pat Tuna very dry, don't marinate - only soak for a minute in sauce. I would not substitute artificial sweetener for honey, turns bitter at high heat. You can substitute cooking sherry for the Kirin without a noticeable difference. Slice thin over crisp salad w/raw veggies and a light ginger/miso dressing for great texture and sweet/salty flavor. If you don't like rare Tuna, open a can, overcooking ruins it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca4Hayes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batesburg-Leesville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This turns out perfect every time. We are low carbers, so we usually replace the honey with Spenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaNae Kopet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Thanks for sharing! Easy & tasty recipe for when one spots great looking ahi tuna at the market. I didn't have and definitely missed the wasabi paste, because without it, the dipping sauce could be a bit cloying to the palate. Served with creamy mashed potatoes and grilled asparagus spears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geezboyz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Amazing!!! I did not have a cast iron skillet so I just used a regular skillet (still amazing). Since then I have purchased a cast iron skillet JUST for the seared tuna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
The sesame seed coating is a great idea. The dipping sauce has too much sesame oil. In fact, I would cut out the sesame oil altogether and substitute ground sesame seeds instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States