Sesame Seared Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Great dish and really pretty to look at! My only complaint is that there is too much oil for me. I only used half of the 2Tbs oil, rice vinegar and garlic, and the vegetables were still a bit to oily. Next time, when sauteeing the sugar snap peas, I will use a tsp of oil. Other than that, this was great! I added red bell pepper to the snap peas for a pretty color. I also used a mix of black and white sesame seeds. Nice summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Quick and easy-great for a weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
MMMMMM! Wonderful! Even my two little boys thought it was a keeper. I did substitute sesame oil for half of the oil required and used seasoned vinegar as others had suggested. I am not a big cilantro fan, so I left that out. I used frozen mango, added it to the snap peas while they were still hot, it was thawed perfecly by the time the salmon was cooked. Worth a try!! Beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Outstanding fresh, crisp, authentic ASIAN smell and taste. However, the photo shown looks very little like the end product (several ingredients are missing). I made it according to the given recipe (using "seasoned" rice vinegar) and it came out great! (I wanted to try seseme oil as some other reviewers recommended, but I couldn't find it at my local grocery store.) Further note: I used the only readily available brand of frozen sugar snap peas and DID NOT defrost them before cooking at all. The suggested cooking times are PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This wasn't quite to my taste. Also, the fish got rather dry - I may have overcooked it to be sure it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monument, Colorado, USA
Living In: Matzenbach, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This was really an excellent dish, though a few changes were made. I used half vegetable oil & half sesame oil, for a nice nutty flavor. Only used 1 - 8oz package of sugar snap peas, and a bit more romaine lettuce. I also used about 1 & 1/3 lbs. of fish. The dressing was really good and the mango added a great sweetness to the salad. It is a bit of work, but we all liked it, and I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This was quite good but I found it to be a lot of effort. Asian salmon (from this site) is equally as good and less effort. I'm not sure if I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This recipe was so good my husband said he couldn't find one better in a restaurant. He caught 370 lbs. of salmon in Alaska so I am always looking for a new recipe. This one hit the spot just like it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This is wonderful. Try substituting 1 of the 4 TBS oil with sesame oil. Combine all 4 TBS and use as the author suggests. Sesame oil gives a very authentic flavor in my opinion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I LOVE salmon, so I ran right out and bought the ingredients for this dish. I don't love handling fish, however, so I changed the method some. I fired up the grill, put the romaine and mango on the serving dish, and stir-fried the remaining ingredients. Then I topped the romaine with the peas and salmon. I loved the flavor of this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States