Sesame Seared Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Great dish and really pretty to look at! My only complaint is that there is too much oil for me. I only used half of the 2Tbs oil, rice vinegar and garlic, and the vegetables were still a bit to oily. Next time, when sauteeing the sugar snap peas, I will use a tsp of oil. Other than that, this was great! I added red bell pepper to the snap peas for a pretty color. I also used a mix of black and white sesame seeds. Nice summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Quick and easy-great for a weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
MMMMMM! Wonderful! Even my two little boys thought it was a keeper. I did substitute sesame oil for half of the oil required and used seasoned vinegar as others had suggested. I am not a big cilantro fan, so I left that out. I used frozen mango, added it to the snap peas while they were still hot, it was thawed perfecly by the time the salmon was cooked. Worth a try!! Beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Outstanding fresh, crisp, authentic ASIAN smell and taste. However, the photo shown looks very little like the end product (several ingredients are missing). I made it according to the given recipe (using "seasoned" rice vinegar) and it came out great! (I wanted to try seseme oil as some other reviewers recommended, but I couldn't find it at my local grocery store.) Further note: I used the only readily available brand of frozen sugar snap peas and DID NOT defrost them before cooking at all. The suggested cooking times are PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This wasn't quite to my taste. Also, the fish got rather dry - I may have overcooked it to be sure it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monument, Colorado, USA
Living In: Matzenbach, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This was really an excellent dish, though a few changes were made. I used half vegetable oil & half sesame oil, for a nice nutty flavor. Only used 1 - 8oz package of sugar snap peas, and a bit more romaine lettuce. I also used about 1 & 1/3 lbs. of fish. The dressing was really good and the mango added a great sweetness to the salad. It is a bit of work, but we all liked it, and I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This was quite good but I found it to be a lot of effort. Asian salmon (from this site) is equally as good and less effort. I'm not sure if I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This recipe was so good my husband said he couldn't find one better in a restaurant. He caught 370 lbs. of salmon in Alaska so I am always looking for a new recipe. This one hit the spot just like it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This is wonderful. Try substituting 1 of the 4 TBS oil with sesame oil. Combine all 4 TBS and use as the author suggests. Sesame oil gives a very authentic flavor in my opinion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I LOVE salmon, so I ran right out and bought the ingredients for this dish. I don't love handling fish, however, so I changed the method some. I fired up the grill, put the romaine and mango on the serving dish, and stir-fried the remaining ingredients. Then I topped the romaine with the peas and salmon. I loved the flavor of this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States