Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This is my favorite recipe that I have found at allrecipes.com - I fell in love with it when I was making (and tasting) the sauce! The sauce is AMAZING and so delicious, really to die for, and it *makes* the dish. The sauce is the perfect combination of sweet and salty, aromatic and delightful. I make this in huge batches and I add cherry tomatoes, blanched snap peas, baby carrots, and celery. We eat it as the main course, and we have yummy leftovers for the day after. I have made this recipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
426 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
I've received many compliments on this recipe, having served it a few times. I would only alter a few things: add julienned carrots, sliced water chestnuts and pea pods cut in half on an angle- really adds nice color, texture and flavor. Knock oil down to 1/3 cup otherwise it is REALLY oily. I use fettucine noddles. If you are making this ahead and chilling it (which I would recommend), add half of the dressing while noodles are still warm and will soak up flavor. MMM! Toss the other half of the dressing before serving. I like it warm OR cold, but feel it is better cold. Still great the next day. Will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
399 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
To DIE for! I reduced the oil to 1/3 cup to make it lower in fat, added a cup of frozen cooked peas and 2 chopped Roma tomatoes for some veggies. Since I love cilantro so much, I increased it to 1/2 cup. The dressing was just amazing! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NYPD K9 COP
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
liked the flavor of this and am a huge fan of cilantro, but this is deffinately a dish I would leave it out! The green onions with the sesame sauce is perfect. You're in better luck when using chunks of chicken, shredded makes the salad a little messy. You can eat this hot or cold its great! second review- this recipe gets better and better as you make it! I'm eating low carb so today I made this (still left the cilantro out) with low carb linguini (snapped them in half so they are short noodles) made the sauce with olive oil instead of vegetable oil, used splenda instead of regular sugar and added vegetables to the green onion like some bok choy, whole canned mushrooms, sugar snap peas, water chestnuts and julianned carrots. INCREDIBLE!! I love this stuff hot and cold. I usually bring a container to work and tend to eat it hot, but by the time its lunch and I'm ready to do that, its gone! great meal and great dish to bring to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
I loved this recipe but had to add vegetables. I added cashew halves,, red, yellow, and orange bell pepper, pea pods, carrots, celery, and fresh corn. I also decreased the amount of oil in the recipe and used rice wine and not vinegar. I substituted fresh ginger for powdered and added a touch of lime juice. It is very pretty and tasty! It is now a staple for my family at picnics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This is a great recipe to build on for your own personal preferences. I cut the oil back to 1/3 cup as the first time I made this is was just to oily. Everything else remained the same. Dressed the salad with 1/2 the dressing mix while the noodles were still warm to absorb the great flavors. Saved the last half to dress again right before serving. Added blanched and juilenned carrots, waterchestnuts for crunch, marinated mushrooms and snowpeas cut on the diagonal for color and presentation. Beautiful salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
Delicious! Would even be good without the chicken for a vegetarian dish. I added grated carrots for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
I made this for a picnic yesterday and it was wonderful! Everyone enjoyed it. One of the things I liked so much is that it was very light on a hot day. I followed the advice of several people and used olive oil and only used half the amount. I wondered if it was going to be dry not using all the liquid but it wasn't in the least. In fact, I think if you used all the oil the pasta would be swimming. I will be making this again and again. Thanks for the recipe Olivia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNA1000

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Wow - I'll never buy the store-made sesame pasta salad again! Didn't use chicken, and didn't have ground ginger, but this recipe was GREAT. The green onions & cilantro add a great kick to the pasta. It's good to let the salad chill for at least 30 min. before serving so all the flavors can fuse together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
Good sidesish...I'm glad I cut the vegetable oil to 1/4 cup as it was more than enough. I also added half red and green bell pepper, chopped. It is a different type of pasta salad and IF I made it again, I might try adding some toasted ramen noodles for some crunch because it tastes just like a pasta version of "asian salad," also found on this site, which is what I think I'll stick with instead of this one. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 857) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States