Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Very good! I thought 1/4 C. Of sesame seeds was an odd, large amount but it's not and they add a nice crunch. I used a mixture of black and white sesame seeds for presentation. The dressing is very good but I used regular soy sauce (not light or low sodium) and thought it still needed about 1 tsp. of salt. I also reduced vegetable oil to 1/4 C. and doubled the sesame oil. I went without chicken to make this a side dish, and left out the green onions as DH does not care for them. I added 1 grated carrot and 1/4 C. sweet mini peppers, diced. Great as is and easy to customize and play around with different additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Easy to make and my boys loved it - a great combination. I used a prepared roasted chicken from the grocery store and added water chestnuts for some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Great flavour! I subbed julienned carrots, chopped snow peas, and reduced the oil to 1/3 cup instead. I will definitely make this again! Also, I used gluten free spagetti (cut into 4) and GF soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittanne
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
"Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad" is quite delicious. I made mine with GLUTEN-FREE PASTA. After tasting the dressing, I did need to modify it to punch it up for our well-seasoned international palates (2 tablespoons of siracha, 2 cloves of garlic, 1 teaspoon of fresh grated ginger). I used GLUTEN-FREE TAMARI in place of the soy sauce. I also used TOASTED SESAME OIL for half of the vegetable oil in the dressing, and it did not have an overwhelming sesame flavor. PLAIN SESAME OIL is almost flavorless, so you do not get an Asian flavor. I did not add sugar because we do not like sweet food in our family. I wanted to serve this salad as a main course, but felt like it was "missing vegetables," which meant I had to make a special trip to the store for cherry tomatoes and snow peas. I loved this salad in concept, and am highly likely to make a modified version of it again because it is such a fast-and-easy make-ahead meal. Thank you ohines for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
delish added tons of other Asian veggies and doubled the sauce. served over fettuccine pasta yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Good base recipe to build your own dish from. We made it as is, but found it lacking flavor. Added some sweet chili sauce and it tasted much better. Still felt like sweet chili sauce was not the best addition, so we will keep exploring to find the best addition(s) to tailor to everybody's preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is so tasty. I subbed the the pasta for shredded zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nick T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I love this recipe, but I made several alterations to it. I added only about half the amount of vegetable oil and rice vinegar, and instead of using basic soy sauce I used Ponzu (soy sauce with a citrus flavor - there are a few kinds but I prefer the orange one with a little bit of lime) as well as Hoisin (which is like an Asian bbq sauce). I just add these to taste as I mix a little at a time into the salad. It may sound like an odd combination but it is really very good. I also added a little of each of the sauces to the chicken when cooking it. I also added red, yellow and orange bell peppers. The last time I made it I also just left out the ginger, I prefer the flavor of the sauces and having all that flavor all at once is too much, in my opinion. I have brought this to several parties in place of a basic pasta salad and everyone LOVES it! It is a great dish if you want something unique that is still not too "different" that it would scare people off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Great recipe! I really loved the flavours, so did my husband. My 5 year old was not a fan though. I knew it would be a gamble with him given the strong flavour of sesame oil. But you never know unless you present different things! For hubby and I, I added chili pepper flakes to offset the sweetness. I also added some julienned bell peppers for flavour and crunch. We had some leftover grilled chicken to use up so this recipe was handy. It's quick, tasty, and simple to make. To ensure the dressing doesn't sit on the bottom, don't rinse the pasta. Put the dressing on while the noodles are still warm, then refrigerate the pasta salad for at least 2 hours, stirring after 1 hour. It coats well and distributes evenly. I used the conversion on All Recipes to half the recipe; it was perfect for 4 servings and there's enough left over for one lunch. This dish is good cold and warm. I could hardly stay out of it before putting it in the fridge to chill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 865) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States