Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This reminds me of a pasta salad I used to love and go out of my way to get when I was in college. Its got a good balance of sweet, and tangy. I reduced the oil to 1/3 cup based on other reviewers, and would omit the toasted sesame seeds next time even though its "sesame pasta chicken salad", I didn't like it texturally. I did, however, use lots of crunchy veggies like red and green bell peppers, celery, and finely grated carrots for color mostly. The final touch was 2 diced ambrosia apples. Their flavor is light, not overly sweet or tart, a great vessel for the dressing and added a little extra "something". Loved it. My kids begged me to take the leftovers to school for lunch. Thank you for such a yummy and nostalgic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Fregoso

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I've been waiting to try this recipe for so long and I just think it was OK. My husband said it was pretty bland and I tend to agree. Maybe I need more dressing? Followed the recipe exactly, adding just a few more veggies (edamame, red pepper and celery). Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I am giving it five stars even though I did as others said and cut the oil to 1/3 cup. My second attempt, I added about 5 cups fresh spinach, no cilantro, 1/4 cup parsley. It was a hit with the family. The dressing is the secret that makes this so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
"Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad" is quite delicious. I made mine with gluten-free pasta. After tasting the dressing, I did need to modify it to punch it up for our well-seasoned international palates (2 tablespoons of siracha, 2 cloves of garlic, 1 teaspoon of fresh grated ginger). I used gluten-free tamari in place of the soy sauce. I also used toasted sesame oil for half of the vegetable oil in the dressing, and it did not have an overwhelming sesame flavor. Plain sesame oil is almost flavorless, so you do not get an Asian flavor. I did not add sugar because we do not like sweet food in our family. I wanted to serve this salad as a main course, but felt like it was "missing vegetables," which meant I had to make a special trip to the store for cherry tomatoes and snow peas. I loved this salad in concept, and am highly likely to make a modified version of it again because it is such a fast-and-easy make-ahead meal. Thank you ohines for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I was looking for something quick and easy to make for lunch with canned chicken and this recipe was a big hit! Very tasty and very filling. The recipe calls for bow tie noodles but I used the spirals as the picture shows and it worked out great. Very yummy, I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Kitzing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Loved it! Reduced the vegetable oil and added some kale and spinach and cherry tomatoes, too. Very light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jordan Bytnar
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
AMAZING One of my friends shared this recipe with me a few months ago and I lost it! Luckily for me, AllRecipes had several to choose from. This is a favorite in my household, my husband is always begging me to make this for him and he always asks me to make a bunch so he can have leftovers for work! I would definitely recommend if you like a zesty pasta dish. Note: I personally love to marinade the chicken overnight in some raspberry balsamic vinegar & brown sugar. Then pour the contents into a pan and cook @400° for 40 minutes. Perfect compliment to the sauce in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Excellent and super easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Very good! I thought 1/4 C. Of sesame seeds was an odd, large amount but it's not and they add a nice crunch. I used a mixture of black and white sesame seeds for presentation. The dressing is very good but I used regular soy sauce (not light or low sodium) and thought it still needed about 1 tsp. of salt. I also reduced vegetable oil to 1/4 C. and doubled the sesame oil. I went without chicken to make this a side dish, and left out the green onions as DH does not care for them. I added 1 grated carrot and 1/4 C. sweet mini peppers, diced. Great as is and easy to customize and play around with different additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Easy to make and my boys loved it - a great combination. I used a prepared roasted chicken from the grocery store and added water chestnuts for some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 872) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States