Sesame Parmesan Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This would rate 5 stars if it weren't for the fact the cooking time was off. This was a very tasty blend of ingredients, and was attractive to serve, but at 20 minutes the zucchini all but turned to mush. What a shame. I would suggest checking this after 10 minutes, then adding a minute or two as needed until your desired degree of tenderness. Twenty minutes, I believe, would be way too overcooked for anyone. It lost both color as well as flavor, and the mushy texture is unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This one's gotten rave reviews from all my friends. I also cut the olive oil in half, and add a bit more sesame seeds. I find it works best to coat the zucchini in oil, then sprinkle on the other ingredients and mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
I added a can of black beans and a can of chickpeas to the recipe to make it a main dish instead of a side dish. I doubled everything except for the zucchini and it turned out great. The beans and zucchini were coated with a flavourful, crisp coating that my husband and I both enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I really liked this, but feel the cooking time is off. I cooked mine at 375 for 10 minutes and 5 minutes on broil. They were perfect and absolutely delicious! The cayenne lends a nice bite. For a special touch, sprinkle extra parmesan after pulling out of oven. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
the zucchini was flavorful and easy to make. i used 2 zucchinis and the oil was a little much, so i'd cut back a lot on the oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
delicious, I throw all ingredients in a zip bag and shake to cover well! Party Pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Very Tasty! I took the advice of others and reduced the olive oil, thank goodness because I thought it was too much even reduced! I have made it several times and am using more sesame oil instead for the flavor and adding more cayenne for the kick. The kids balk sometimes, but us grown ups love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Great idea! My kids loved this but I did make some changes. Instead of olive oil, I used two tablespoons of low cal Italian dressing to save on fat and calories. My kids do not like sesame seeds so I left them out. I baked them in a deeper dish instead of in one layer and, of course, that takes longer. My kids loved it and so did I -- I will make this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
As someone who is really not fond of zucchini, I must say this was a very nice side dish. I only used 1 tablespoon of olive oil, and the next time I make this recipe, I'll try using olive oil cooking spray instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsSpice
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
The sesame oil flavor was delicious. I didn't measure anything and I must admit that I'm a sucker for pan-fried zucchini, so after baking it for about 10 minutes or so, I dumped into a hot frying pan for a few minutes. I don't think this recipe will serve 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States