Sesame Oil Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
These "Sesame Oil Chicken Wings" are so tasty! They are quick and easy to prepare to boot! I substituted the light and dark soy sauces (15 tablespoons almost equals 1 cup) with 3/4 cup of LOW-SODIUM gluten-free tamari because I am gluten intolerant. Tamari being generally richer than soy sauce, I thought it was appropriate to use less; however, my change (not the recipe) resulted in slightly salty wings. The next time I make this I will use only 1/2 cup of LOW-SODIUM gluten-free tamari to replace the soy sauce. I will also get the butcher to split my chicken wings. Thank you GAN55 for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I loved these wings!! I wish there was a 4.5, because I feel it's not quite a 5, but very good. I crisped them in the oven at 450, and I doubled the recipe because 2 pounds of wings isn't very many. Then I used the sauce left in the skillet for some fried rice to go with it. I'm a salt lover, and this was a bit salty, so if you don't like salt, use all low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I made the recipe exactly as stated. I felt the saltiness of the soy overpowered all the other flavors. After trying it as is, I put toasted sesame seeds on top and that helped alittle but not enough. I am glad I tried it but will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Very good!! My family loved them on my first try. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Ohhhh my gosh!! These were soo good. I wish it made more. It seemed like a had lots of soy sauce left in the pot, and not enough wings. Next time I d recommend get at least 3-4 lbs of wings. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I love BBQ'ing and that was how I made these wings and they were so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCSnyder
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
My very picky husband thought these wings were delicious. I simmered the ribs in the soy sauce for 15 minutes and then followed someone's suggestion of sprinkling them with sesame oil and baking at 450 for 15 minutes. They were crisp and perfect. I served them with rice and carrots. Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: China Grove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Good and Good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Quick, easy and very tasty...i did not have light and dark soy sauce, so only used the dark...but it was very good....i make it every week now for my toddlers. Tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIHANNA
Home Town: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Very nice indeed - more sesame needed for it to be justify the name, but it still works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States