Sesame Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I love this salad. It is very refreshing. This salad is great to take to a picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
this was delicious. I used rice vinegar (instead of balsamic) and added a little vegetable oil to make it stick to the noodles. I also toasted the sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlpicanso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This is a great pasta salad for a picnic or cookout. I used whole grain pasta and doubled the recipe for a large party. I followed the sauce recipe exactly as written with no substitutions. It is very good cold so it can be made a day ahead, this lets the flavors blend as well. I'd recommend adding the sesame seeds just before serving, it adds a little crunch to the texture. We also increased the amount of sesame seeds after we tasted it. One tip - buy the toasted sesame seeds in an Asian market or the Asian section of the grocery store. Much cheaper than in the spice section. The response? - Three people at the party requested the recipe - so go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I have been searching for a good sesame noodle recipe, and I think I have found it. I was skeptical about the balsamic vinegar, as most Asian pasta recipes call for rice vinegar. I'm going to try this recipe with rice vinegar next time I make it solely for comparison purposes, but just know that it is delicious as is. The hot chili oil gives it just the right amount of kick. I usually order a spiciness of "3" out of a range of 1-5 in Thai restaurants. So if you like mild or extra spicy, you might want to adjust the hot chili oil accordingly. Also, I used linguine noodles, just because that is our preference. Finally, make sure you read the label when purchasing sesame oil. I grabbed a sesame oil "blend," only to discover after reading the label that it had other oils mixed in with it. I put it back on the shelf and grabbed the bottle labeled "pure" sesame oil, and reading the label confirmed for me that the oil was indeed 100% sesame oil, and not a blend. This is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This is a tasty pasta that never fails to brings at least one request for the recipe. It is super easy to make ahead of time and is just as good, in fact better, the next day, or the next, if I am lucky enough to have any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Outrageously delicious! A new go-to for pot lucks and picnics. My gourmet grocery store sells this exact salad for $8.99/lb, forget that! By the way, they use black sesame seeds. I prepared this very closely as written with just a couple of tweaks: I used a little less (about 1/3 cup) sesame oil, a little more sugar (about 1/4 cup + 2-3 tablespoons, just kept tasting), added more green onions, a yellow pepper, thinly sliced peapods, and shredded carrot to the mix. Served cold. My hubby raved. Definitely make this the night before if you can and toss every so often while it refridgerates. Thanks, jkmom, this is a sure-fire winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I bought a bottle of hot chili oil at the Asian market a couple of weeks ago, and had no idea what to do with it...then I stumbled upon this recipe and thought I'd give it a try. I'm glad I did! This was very good! I have to admit, though I LOVE sesame oil, 1/2 cup seemed a bit much, so I started off with 1/4 cup and thought I would just add more if I needed to. I didn't. I thought that that was the perfect amount for us. Also, I used thin spaghetti because hubby doesn't like angel hair and I added more green onions than called for. I served this warm, but can't wait to try the leftovers cold tomorrow. We really enjoyed the spiciness from the chili oil as well. I will be using this recipe again, for sure! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I add more chili oil to the dressing and actually add more vegetables to the dish. It's VERY good. I never serve it warm. I always serve it ice cold and its perfect to take to work as I don't have to fight for a microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I have always made the sesame noodles from the Silver Palate cookbook and everybody loves them. These are just as good and a nice change. I would highly recommend making them at least 6 hours before and preferably 24 hours. The noodles absorb the "sauce" and the flavors meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
A very yummy dish. I only had a 1/4 cup of sesame oil on hand and it turned out great. Also because of dietary concerns, I omitted the soy sauce (even though I really like it) and used a tsp of salt. I left out the chili oil too and it was so delicious. I added very thinly sliced small carrot slices, and some chopped red onion both briefly cooked. This recipe is a keeper! enjoy and share at your next potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States