Sesame Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I scaled this recipe down to two servings for Hubs and me. I used thin spaghetti and I cut way back on the sesame oil, using only 1 t. I didn’t have hot chili oil so I used some chili garlic paste, to taste. I toasted my sesame seeds at 350 degrees for about 6 minutes, until golden, which enhances their flavor. I used a mix of red, yellow and orange peppers and just eyeballed the amount. This was very good and we enjoyed it with Asian Glazed Chicken Thighs, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef G
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I used Udon noodles instead of angel hair, toasted sesame oil and omitted the sesame seeds, 8 green onions, 2 TBS. minced ginger and less than 1/2 the sugar. Also added pre-cooked shrimp as the last step. Very tasty warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
delicious the only difference is, i used rice nooddles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonzalezlovetocook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I LOVE this salad! I thinly slice red pepper, green pepper and carrots. I might try scaling down the dressing just a bit next time. Even after it was all gone, there was a puddle in the bottom of the bowl. Better more than not enough tho'. Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This dish was a great side with our korean beef. I left out the red peppers and added julienned carrots and peas, also used whole wheat spaghetti. When I first made it there was a lot of liquid in the bottom of the bowl, after an hour in the fridge and a couple tosses the liquid was all absorbed by the noodles. Just reheated for dinner. highly suggest doing that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I made two batches of this for my son's teacher luncheon. I stuck to the recipe for the noodles, but I added grilled chicken to the noodles (after it marinated in ginger, soy sauce, garlic,brown sugar and dry sherry). I added the grilled chicken to the noodles and let it chill overnight. Noodles tasted better next day warmed up. I was told that for the luncheon, one bowl of noodles was warmed and the other batch served cold. The warm batch was finished and cold one had some leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary
Home Town: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Simply delicious. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Love the flavors in the salad! I scaled this recipe back a bit since I am only serving two people. I left out the hot chili oil because family members don't tolerate spiciness well. I used the angel hair pasta, boiled for 4 minutes then drained it and set it aside. I added 3T sesame oil, 4T soysauce, 2T balsamic vinegar but keeping almost the 1/4 cup of the white sugar called for in the recipe. I tased the sauce until it was the right balance with sweetness. I added the warm noodles into the sauce along with the chopped green onions and red bell peppers. I added more chopped green onions and a little yellow and orange bell peppers for color, texture and nutrition. At first the sauce will seem like a lot, however the warm noodles will soak it all up. I highly suggest chilling the noodles to allow the flavors to meld and come alive. Right before serving I sprinkled sesame seeds over the noodles for added presentation (see my picture in the photo gallery). A very colorful dish with peppers, green onions and sesame seeds. This salad is simply easy to prepare and flavorful. The balsamic vinegar is an interesting twist but it was not strong with all other ingredients. I always like the combination of the sesame oil with soy sauce and sugar. The sauce can easily be adjusted to fit your tastes. I served these noodles along with, "Hoisin-Ginger Beef Skewers," from this website and another tasty dish! The sesame noodle is best served chilled especially on a hot, humid day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I've made this several times and we love it. I don't have chili oil but use about 1/2 tsp chili paste. It's great leftover too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I used soba noodles instead of the angel hair and left out the hot chili oil (didn't have any) and the green onion since I was serving this to a friend allergic to onions. I also added broccoli. This was incredible. The flavor combination in the dressing was not something I would have thought of but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sesame Noodle Salad

Mayonnaise-free pasta salad ideal for picnics and potlucks.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States