Sesame Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I have made this recipe several times now for potlucks and BBQs and it is always a huge hit! People continually ask me for the recipe! The fundamental revision I make to the recipe is to sub 1/2 of the sesame oil with vegetable or canola oil - so 1/4 cup each sesame and vegetable oil - otherwise the sesame flavor is too overpowering for my taste. From there I like to add crushed peanuts, shredded carrots, lots of fresh cilantro and a little fresh lime juice to make it more Thai inspired....it's all up to you and your tastes! I've even added ground chicken and pork to make this a main dish and it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Very good recipe. We like more veggies in our diet, so next time I make it, I will add more. Great dish that has flexibility to be vegetarian, or add meat, and either way be a people pleaser. My daughter came in the door from volleyball practice and exclaimed how delicious our house smelled. I think we have a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Fantastic! It tasted just like Larry's sesame noodle salad. We'll make this again. The recipe was perfect the way it was; normally I tinker with recipes but this did not require any adjustment at all. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Great recipe! Used red bell pepper and julienned carrots for the color and crunch and left the onions and chili oil out (just because we were taking it to a gathering). I also used barilla plus thin spaghetti because it's a little more dense and substituted rice vinegar for the balsamic. After all those changes it was still delicious! I can't wait to try it with the chili oil and onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
My 2 year old son loves these! I have made them a couple of times now and tried gluten free noodles once--not bad for gluten free but the dressing doesn't absorb as well. I also prefer the recipe with shredded carrot instead of red pepper AND I like 1/3 cup of sugar instead of 1/4. Next time I think I'll add some chicken and make it a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Excellent recipe - I used whole wheat spaghetti noodles. I did not have hot chili oil, so I left it out, and let my husband, who like hot spice add red pepper flakes to his. There is too much sauce, although some is absorbed, I used the remainder as a marinade for steak, which I pan-fried to medium rare. I sliced it against the grain and served it over the noodle salad. The possibilities are endless with this as a base. Definitely a 'keeper.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Like some others, this will be my goto picnic salad! I made it for a get together and everyone loved it. I initially made it as per the recipe but did add about a tablespoon more of sugar. I will be reducing the sesame oil next time although it was yummy, it's so versatile, next time I am going to throw in different veggies. Letting it in the fridge for a few hours before serving really let the flavors soak into the noodles. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I loved this salad at Larry's and was so glad to find a recipe for it! Its not exactly the same, but its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Great recipe...I added some diced cooked chicken and brought it to a potluck as a cold salad. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
My family loved this recipe! There was one thing that they would love to have in this and that is some cabbage. Next time I will try it with some. We loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States