Sesame Lime Steak Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
We made this recipe without any substitutions and thought it was just wonderful. The meat has a unique flavor that I could see not everyone enjoying, but it was a hit for us. The flavor is a bit more asian than I expected, but it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
We grilled the meat along with onions and red peppers, and served the boiled down marinade separately. It was great this way - I think the fajitas would be a bit empty otherwise. We also used about 3/4 lb meat for 4 people and increased the sauce proportions a bit. I used about 4 times the amount of ginger called for, but I grated it to avoid those nasty chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
Instead of slicing the raw beef and marinating, I left it whole and marinated it for a couple of hours then grilled the meat on my gas grill. I sliced the rare beef thinly across the grain and used that as the foundation of the wraps following the rest of the recipe as written. Very tasty. I think I'd like to try adding some more ingredients though besides just lettuce and meat next time, maybe cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
This is a good quick recipe that also happens to be fairly healthy! It needed a little something else after I reduced it, so I added fresh ginger and a teaspoon of red curry paste along with a bit of rice wine vinegar...the result...awesome! I did however, think that the amount of honey specified was a little heavy, so next time I will reduce it by half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
I would make this again without using the wrap, instead serving the meat over white rice. I think the wrap takes away from the Asian flavour. Also instead of boiling the marinade, I'm going to try some cornstarch to thicken it up quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
I'm a bit surprised at the comments that this recipe had too much lime. C'mon, the basis of the original Mexican fajita is skirt steak and lime juice! Lime and beef go excellent together. Anyhow, this recipe worked out okay, but I still prefer the simple skirt steak marinated in lime and salted approach to fajitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
I have made this recipe for several people and everyone raves about it. People are always asking me when I am going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
This recipe is fairly easy to prepare and to cook, but, unfortunately was a "thumbs-down" entree to the 5 people I served it to,due to the overpowering taste of the lime juice. The wrap also needs some type of dressing to make it not so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
We loved this! One of my kids (11 yrs) thought they were great, the 9 year old didn't. I do think it might be better with skirt steak, will try that next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Very tasty, quick to make, and satisfying. I made a vegan version using seitan (I used WestSoy seitan strips). I also used agave nectar in place of honey, and corn rather than flour tortillas (that's what I had around).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garyloewenthal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States