Sesame Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I substituted sesame oil for olive oil, added a bit of garlic, and red pepper flakes for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This was good, for a side dish. I admit, I felt it tasted a little bland, as written, and I ended up adding garlic powder and onion powder. I felt the additions gave it more flavor. I will use this one again, and rate it 5 for a fine base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
They lacked flavor and nobody really cared for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Very good! I was following the directions exactly, until... I realized the left over BBQ pork loin I was planning on heating up and serving alongside the beans had been used in someone's sandwich. I only had about a 2 oz piece left. So I cut it in half sliced it thin, then added those small pieces to the beans just before adding the broth. Delicious. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
These green beans are delightful! I love this recipe. Be sure to brown the sesame seeds so their flavor really comes out. They were perfectly seasoned as written, no changes necessary for this recipe! However, I did have to use canola oil because I ran out of olive oil, but it was a success anyways. They were a wonderful side dish for "Super Grilled Salmon" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
These beans turn out tender-crisp, green, and full of flavor without using butter. I resisted the urge to change anything (especially the minced garlic urge) and made them as written. I would make them again with no changes. I did have to add a little more chicken broth probably because I cook at high altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
My toddler daughter ate all of her green beans and mine. So tasty and tender. Upon advice of other reviwers I used 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken stock. This will be a new go to recipe for green beans for my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Radtechnc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Sorry, but we did not enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
has a surprising amount of flavor thanks to the chicken broth. i only needed to cook my beans a few minutes, not the full ten. i'll for sure make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Excellent - easy to make, flavorful and crisp tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akppsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States