Sesame Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Used Butter instead of olive oil... About 3-4oz Brought my heat up so that the butter was just starting to bubble... Added 1 1/2 tbsp of "raw" white sesame seeds. Stir often... Don't let the butter brown. (A lot of the exploding seeds comments are because you're heating the seeds up too high and too fast) The seeds will gradually toast and turn a nice light brown colour. I added 1 1/2 lbs of fresh, clipped green beans in 2" pieces. Toss the beans often... You need to cook the beans a bit without letting seeds settle and burn. (It happens quick!) After about 2 mins (the beans turned bright green, but were still crisp) Pour in 1 1/2 cups of unsalted chicken stock. The pan should be hot enough to sizzle and almost immediately boil, but not too hot that you have a nuclear explosion! (a lot of comments that the stock immediately disappeared= The pan was way too hot!) Cook the beans in stock about 3-4 minutes till al dente. Remove the beans to a dish. Reduce the liquid down by 2/3.. Re-add the beans, toss and serve! Beautiful taste, texture & aroma. S&P to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I like the method!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Nice and easy side dish. I served with Asian Lettuce Wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Great news! There is hope for the good ole green bean! I made them exactly as the recipe indicated and, wa-lah, that was some good eating! I concur with others who were con adding garlic, I like the taste of the sesame seed and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny's Good Eatin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Delicious! Instantly one of my favorite recipes thus far. Green beans have never tasted so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiee17

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly as written. Very good recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I thought these were great but my son thought they only rated a "3." But he likes canned green beans straight of the can, so what does he know? I actually ran out of sesame seeds yesterday and made these without. Still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
It is as good as is mentioned in the other reviews. I will do this again. It made a very nice side dish. I added garlic flavored sesame oil instead of the regular olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
unbelievable! i will never make green beans with garlic again! i added pine nuts when i was toating the sesame seeds- adds lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yael

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States