Sesame Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this as a side for Christmas lunch and it was perfect. It is really simple, but the beans turned out perfectly. I have a bad habit of slightly overcooking greens by losing track of time at the end of preparing everything all together. However I did these beans in a large electric skillet and they were ready 10 mins before everything else, but I put in the 'keep warm' mode and they were perfect for serving. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Very tasty indeed! To enhance the sesame flavor, I used sesame seed oil instead of the suggested olive oil. Definitely will be used again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MasterGrillAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Amazing, I recommend 2 tablespoons of soy sauce while cooking the green beans, brings wonderful flavor, my boyfriend LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
These were blander than I expected. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trac689

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
A really nice side dish and very easy to make. I actually preferred them re-heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Really simple and great! I'm a veggie so I subbed veg stock. I also added a touch of soy sauce and some fresh grated ginger - yum! I left a little liquid at the end and tossed some noodles in it, which made a really great sauce. Next time I think I'll try adding tofu, garlic, and carrots to make a meal out of it :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I discovered this recipe a few weeks ago & have made these beans 5 or 6 times already. I agree with other reviews, try them as the recipe states without adding garlic for the first time...you will love them! We are big garlic eaters at our house, but this recipe has such a delicate, nutty taste that it truly doesn't need anything else. I did omit the salt, since there seems to be more than enough in the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This recipe isn't awful, but it's nothing to write home about, or give 5 stars, for that matter. I did like the idea of using sesame seeds (black AND white for color variation). I would suggest putting the sesame seeds on about halfway through the cooking process, though. The white ones lost color by the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I served these for Thanksgiving and people liked them. I used frozen (thawed) beans and tripled the recipe but it worked out just fine. Thanks for a simple but tasty way to make green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
They're wonderful. I used Sesame Oil instead of Olive Oil and I liked them alot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States