Sesame-Crusted Tuna with Summer Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Absolutely delicious!! I couldn't find wasabe powder, so I just used wasabe paste. My husband tasted the summer salsa without the tuna and didn't like it at all. BUT when served with the tuna, both of us thought it was perfect. I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Wow! This recipe makes you look like a chef! I cubed my tuna and cooked it in a covered skillet with a little canola oil (I don't have a grill). I also had a little wasabi mayonnaise on the side. It was restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Witbank, Mpumalanga, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
An outstanding recipe. I used a sushi grade of Ahi Tuna and made the recipe exactly as directed. The flavors were very complimentary of one another. This dish presents very well for entertaining. I only regret that I ate it before I took a photo of it, to submit. Thanks for a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
WOW! Fast & delicious! Loved it, can't wait to do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This was the first time I ever had tuna steak, and oh...My...GOD!! Was this awesome!!! This recipe was so easy, so quick, and so delicious, I felt like I was a chef in a five-star restaurant. The way those sesame seeds taste after they are grilled on the tuna is some kind of luxury. Will make this many many times over again. Changes? I did start out with a pre-marinated tuna steak which I bought from Trader Joe's. And I added a little more wasabi powder at the end because as it sat, the flavor of it seemed to subside to me. GREAT RECIPE, Thanks So Much for this!! Oh yeah, next time, might try orange juice in place of the lime. I bet that would work nicely too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinole, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
The summer salsa is the BEST part of this recipe. I've made it since on it's own for tortilla chips and think it would be great with tilapia or shrimp. This was fantastic with a nice semi dry white wine. Fantastic! Make sure your avocado and mango and nice and ripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rho.mox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
SO good! I didn't use the wasabi powder but I did put lime zest in the salsa and it was fab! Will do it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This is a huge hit at our house. Light, fresh and flavorful. The only changes we made are adding some small bits of crystallized ginger to the sesame seeds to coat the tuna. I know it doesnt sound good but really, it adds a new depth of flavor that compliments the tuna and the salsa. LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy E. Boles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was delicious! I didn't even have to toast the sesame seeds, they got nice and crispy while cooking on the tuna. I let them brown a lot which gave more flavor to the tuna. The salsa was incredible - I didn't even bother with the wasabi and it was very flavorful and a perfect combination with the sesame seeds. I don't have a grill so I did this in a heavy pan on the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I enjoyed this recipe! The wasabi powder in the salsa gave a nice heat to this dish. This dish was made for the grill, but unfortunately, I live in a small apartment with no grill on hand- so I pan-seared it. This recipe says to cook the tuna until opaque, but I tend to like mine more on the rare side to preserve all of that fresh flavor. Definitely a word of advice: season this fish with s&p a good amount before cooking it. I have made that mistake of not seasoning well with this dish before. It comes out pretty bland. This dish had a nice balance of sweet and spicy with the mango and wasabi powder. This was a nice salsa that I could eat alone with tortilla chips. I added a few slices of raw baby radish to give that crunch I was missing from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States