Sesame-Crusted Tuna with Summer Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Loved this recipe! Easy, light and refreshing. I of couse had to add some additional things for preference. First I used sesame oil instead of canola. For a better presentation I also used white and black sesame seeds. Lastly salsa isn't salsa to me with out onion, garlic and cilantro so I added some of each. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
An outstanding recipe. I used a sushi grade of Ahi Tuna and made the recipe exactly as directed. The flavors were very complimentary of one another. This dish presents very well for entertaining. I only regret that I ate it before I took a photo of it, to submit. Thanks for a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Absolutely delicious!! I couldn't find wasabe powder, so I just used wasabe paste. My husband tasted the summer salsa without the tuna and didn't like it at all. BUT when served with the tuna, both of us thought it was perfect. I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Wow! This recipe makes you look like a chef! I cubed my tuna and cooked it in a covered skillet with a little canola oil (I don't have a grill). I also had a little wasabi mayonnaise on the side. It was restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Witbank, Mpumalanga, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
So... I used frozen tuna steaks, my wasabi powder is old and mild, and I substituted orange/peach/mango juice for the lime. Still, this recipe was solidly unremarkable. The tuna steaks needed salt, pepper, or *something* more than sesame to flavor the bites without salsa. I ended up sprinkling my serving with cayenne to make it more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
SO good! I didn't use the wasabi powder but I did put lime zest in the salsa and it was fab! Will do it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was delicious! I didn't even have to toast the sesame seeds, they got nice and crispy while cooking on the tuna. I let them brown a lot which gave more flavor to the tuna. The salsa was incredible - I didn't even bother with the wasabi and it was very flavorful and a perfect combination with the sesame seeds. I don't have a grill so I did this in a heavy pan on the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
The summer salsa is the BEST part of this recipe. I've made it since on it's own for tortilla chips and think it would be great with tilapia or shrimp. This was fantastic with a nice semi dry white wine. Fantastic! Make sure your avocado and mango and nice and ripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rho.mox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
WOW! Fast & delicious! Loved it, can't wait to do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
My review is for the tuna only. I didn't make the salsa. I think I would have liked it better had it called for more seasoning than just the sesame seeds and a shorter cooking time. Once it is opaque the tuna is almost well done and we much prefer it on the rare side. Having said that, I must admit I had to cook it inside because the grill is iced in right now. I broiled it and watched it carefully so I do think I cooked it as instructed. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States