Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
SO good! We omitted the hot pepper and mushrooms out of preference, and had to replace rice wine with rice vinegar. next time i will probably make more of the marinade because it was soooo good. i loved the combination of flavors; the lemon really gave it some fantastic kick. served it with white rice and wonton soup. will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This recipe was excellent and very easy to cook> My husband said it was restaurant quaility & had great flavor. I marinated the chicken overnight and we put honey in it & it was even better! Even my picky 4-year-old loved it & asked for seconds. Thanks for a great recipe - I'm definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I did tweak this recipe a little, like others have. I made more sauce, but just eyeballed it, I breaded and fried the chicken first, then I left out mushrooms but added broccoli. Unfortunately I slightly overtoasted the sesame seeds, but overall this recipe still turned out great. Even my husband who isn't a big fan of Asian style foods (unless it's from a popular chain store) liked it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
My husband hates sesame seeds, so that was the only ingredient I left out. I wasn't sure what "rice wine" was and couldn't find it in the store. I googled it and figured it was some kind of Sake. The store I was at only had one kind of Sake in the wine section and thats what I went with. I used low sodium soy sauce. I ened up having to add a little more rice wine and soy at the end to add a little more "sauce" to the dish. I served with brown rice and beef dumplings (from this site) and everyone including my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Scillo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Trpled this recipe and dumped it on a tray full of rice for a holiday buffet. It was the first item to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This is great - it's not quite like in the Chinese restaurants where it's got almost a glaze consistency; it's better though. I didn't use the chili sauce, and I put sweet red peppers instead of green. I'll definitely be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was fantastic!! My husband and I both loved it. Even though we didn't have any sesame seeds, it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This is unreal! I added a little ginger to give it some more kick, other than that I followed the recipe exactly, don't skimp out on the sesame seeds:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This recipe was wonderful! I would suggest doubling the marinade so that there is a little more sauce. I didn't have rice wine so I used white coooking wine and it turned out great. I added green peppers, red peppers, and baby corn and served it over rice. I also added more salt to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
My husband and I added a lot more hot sauce while we were eating, but otherwise, this recipe was great! We'll definately be making it again :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States