Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This is great - it's not quite like in the Chinese restaurants where it's got almost a glaze consistency; it's better though. I didn't use the chili sauce, and I put sweet red peppers instead of green. I'll definitely be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was fantastic!! My husband and I both loved it. Even though we didn't have any sesame seeds, it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Trpled this recipe and dumped it on a tray full of rice for a holiday buffet. It was the first item to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
My husband and I added a lot more hot sauce while we were eating, but otherwise, this recipe was great! We'll definately be making it again :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I did tweak this recipe a little, like others have. I made more sauce, but just eyeballed it, I breaded and fried the chicken first, then I left out mushrooms but added broccoli. Unfortunately I slightly overtoasted the sesame seeds, but overall this recipe still turned out great. Even my husband who isn't a big fan of Asian style foods (unless it's from a popular chain store) liked it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
My husband hates sesame seeds, so that was the only ingredient I left out. I wasn't sure what "rice wine" was and couldn't find it in the store. I googled it and figured it was some kind of Sake. The store I was at only had one kind of Sake in the wine section and thats what I went with. I used low sodium soy sauce. I ened up having to add a little more rice wine and soy at the end to add a little more "sauce" to the dish. I served with brown rice and beef dumplings (from this site) and everyone including my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Scillo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This recipe was excellent and very easy to cook> My husband said it was restaurant quaility & had great flavor. I marinated the chicken overnight and we put honey in it & it was even better! Even my picky 4-year-old loved it & asked for seconds. Thanks for a great recipe - I'm definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This is unreal! I added a little ginger to give it some more kick, other than that I followed the recipe exactly, don't skimp out on the sesame seeds:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This recipe was wonderful! I would suggest doubling the marinade so that there is a little more sauce. I didn't have rice wine so I used white coooking wine and it turned out great. I added green peppers, red peppers, and baby corn and served it over rice. I also added more salt to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
SO good! We omitted the hot pepper and mushrooms out of preference, and had to replace rice wine with rice vinegar. next time i will probably make more of the marinade because it was soooo good. i loved the combination of flavors; the lemon really gave it some fantastic kick. served it with white rice and wonton soup. will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States