Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
Recipe went really well at a dinner party. There was no leftovers. However it is not like the Sesame Chicken I find at most Chinese Restraunts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Very authentic results. The cooking technique used allows for endless variety. I made it with B/S thighs - I just like thighs better (& they're much less expensive). I also like it quite spicy so I used 3 garlic cloves and the dash of hot pepper sauce was more like 1½ tablespoons. An unsuspecting Vidalia onion got tossed in just because it was laying around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
This had a good flavor, but it is very much not like Sesame Chicken found in Chinese restaurants. But, due to its preparation method, it is probably also lower in fat and calories than the Sesame Chicken found in Chinese restaurants. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I found this recipe very good.However,I perfer zangy chinese food. If this was spiced up a bit more it would be excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This is great - it's not quite like in the Chinese restaurants where it's got almost a glaze consistency; it's better though. I didn't use the chili sauce, and I put sweet red peppers instead of green. I'll definitely be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
First attempt at making Chinese food...and it turned out really well. I have never had this at a restaurant before so I have nothing to compare it to, but we liked it. I didn't add the peppers or mushrooms (didn't have them on hand), but I did add pineapple chunks and cashews. We served with white rice and it was good. Will make again...thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
this was the best recipe i have evered made in my life. My family loved it and asked me for the recipe. they loved it as much as i did.Now every get together my mom make this dish.Thank you Shelley for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was fantastic!! My husband and I both loved it. Even though we didn't have any sesame seeds, it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This was not that good. It was sort of bland and it looked terrible. The chicken was the color of oatmeal! I ate it but I won't follow this recipe again. I am used to sesame chicken with a breading and a sauce, this had neither. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I like a lot of sauce, so I doubled the marinade. I also added some baby corn, yellow squash, and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States