Sesame Chicken Strips with Sweet Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I love this recipe for chicken strips, though I have to admit I always make them without the sauce on the side. The proportions seem a little difficult to get right since I always just use whatever amount of chicken I need to use up, but that's not the fault of the recipe. Sometimes the coating doesn't stick too well, though. I do think the type of cracker matters... I used saltines a couple times since I had no Ritz, and it didn't stick as well. Also, I tend to pound the chicken breasts to be more even before cutting into strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
this is such a simple and delish dish! I have been making this recipe for 2 years and 3 kids still get just as excited everytime i tell them i am making it. I followed the suggestions of previous reviewers: 1. add a little water to the mayonnaise to thin it out a bit. 2. I add seasoning to crackers (my choice is garlic pepper) 3. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Found mayonnaise dip awkward. Maybe I put on too think of a layer? But I found the coating would come off in clumps wherever I touched the chicken. Base on other reviews I add ground ginger and sesame oil to mayo mix. Still not especially strong flavor, but they all got eaten at the potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Okay, but no one thought it was great. I probably won't serve it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
The flavor of these is GREAT, my only complaint is that the breading kept falling off so easily. I didn't use the sweet sauce suggested, just dipped in honey, but when I dipped all the breading fell off into the honey so I started drizzling it over the strips...still delecate to the touch but drizzling helped keep everything together. I DEFINATELY reccoment this recipe, but I'm going to search other reviews for tips on keeping coating in tact. Also, make 20% more coating mix than you think you'll need; I ran out & had to finish up with bread crumbs on my last few chicken strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Anything where the picky 8 year old says " This is the best chicken I ever ate" gets 5 stars in my book! I ran out of crackers and substituted with goldfish crackers! Worked like a charm! Next time I might use the multi color ones just for fun! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
LOVED IT!! i had to alter the recipe a bit because I cooked only enough chicken for myself, and I added a little water to the mixture before dipping the chicken as another reviewer mentioned to make it less thick.. i also added some mustard to the dipping sauce.. A+ !! Thank You! I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was fantastic! I did not modify the recipe, but I did have a problem with the breading falling off the chicken after it was baked. Any ideas on that problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Delicious! I cut 3 boneless breasts (almost 2 lbs) into finger-size strips, put them in a baggie and spooned the mayo mixture over the chicken. I just mooshed it around in the bag to coat all the pieces. For the crumb mixture, I used 2 sleeves of Ritz, the 1/2 c. toasted sesame seeds, plus a little garlic powder and fresh cracked black pepper. I covered my pan with parchment paper and sprayed with a bit of cooking spray. It took about 20 mins for the strips to be done. The amount was plenty for four adults. For the sauce, try 2 parts mayo to 1 part honey, and add some dried dill weed. I used 1/2 c. mayo, 1/4 c. honey and about 3/4 tsp. dill weed. We loved the flavor and nice crispy crunch of these strips. Thanks for sharing the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DISCOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
It was not such a hit by me. I baked instead of frying, but the sauce was not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States