Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This tasted great! I served it over spaghetti noodles. In order to have enough sauce to coat the noodles I doubled the liquid ingredients twice (quadrupled) and thicken it by sprinkling a little flour and corn starch. I didn't have snow peas so I shredded a carrot. (I also threw in some sunflower seeds)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Once the chicken was cooked, prior to adding the veggies I shredded the chicken. I think this made it more moist and then I added the veggies. I didn't have snow peas so i added shredded carrots. I added the sesame seeds w/ the sauce since the recipe didn't say when to add it. I used this chicken recipe to fill lettuce cups... making sesame chicken lettuce wraps. I topped some w/ spicy mayo & others w/ hot mustard and spouts. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I had no sesame so I just skipped it but it still was delicious! after reading the other reviews I doubled the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
A bit too salty for my taste, and otherwise no interesting flavors going on. Would rather just make a normal stir-fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Really yummy! Great as leftovers. Didn't really have to change anything, I just put in extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I thought this tasted pretty good especially considering there isn't even a drop of oil in it. Even though it had some flavor it was a little on the dry side because of that. I like how many vegetables it adds in one meal though. The directions did not say what to do with the sesame seeds that were toasted, so when it was done I just stirred them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This was pretty bland and dry. Not at all like authentic sesame chicken, but maybe that's because it's not deep fried and covered in MSG. I would make this again for myself but not my husband who likes big "manly" meals. I didn't have snow peas so I made this with broccoli and bean sprouts, and put over brown rice. Next time will double sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Wow! This is delightful and incredibly easy to make. Following another review, I doubled the sauce and it was perfect. I then mixed in some brown rice and it soaked up the extra sauce. Very tasty -- I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was really good, however I only gave it 4 stars because I felt the sauce needed to be doubled and it seemed to be "missing" something. I added 4 tsp of Natural Peanut Butter and not only did it enhance the flavour, it also thickened the sauce. I would definitely make this again. FYI: celery and carrots thinly sliced works well with this. I also doubled the qty of sesame seeds with great results. I would also recommend serving rice or pasta with it. (These didn't affect the rating I gave it though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was really good! I might double the sauce next time though, since I like a little bit of sauce with my stir fry, but honestly, really good! And pretty easy to make. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States