Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This tasted great! I served it over spaghetti noodles. In order to have enough sauce to coat the noodles I doubled the liquid ingredients twice (quadrupled) and thicken it by sprinkling a little flour and corn starch. I didn't have snow peas so I shredded a carrot. (I also threw in some sunflower seeds)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Once the chicken was cooked, prior to adding the veggies I shredded the chicken. I think this made it more moist and then I added the veggies. I didn't have snow peas so i added shredded carrots. I added the sesame seeds w/ the sauce since the recipe didn't say when to add it. I used this chicken recipe to fill lettuce cups... making sesame chicken lettuce wraps. I topped some w/ spicy mayo & others w/ hot mustard and spouts. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I had no sesame so I just skipped it but it still was delicious! after reading the other reviews I doubled the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
A bit too salty for my taste, and otherwise no interesting flavors going on. Would rather just make a normal stir-fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Really yummy! Great as leftovers. Didn't really have to change anything, I just put in extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I thought this tasted pretty good especially considering there isn't even a drop of oil in it. Even though it had some flavor it was a little on the dry side because of that. I like how many vegetables it adds in one meal though. The directions did not say what to do with the sesame seeds that were toasted, so when it was done I just stirred them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This was pretty bland and dry. Not at all like authentic sesame chicken, but maybe that's because it's not deep fried and covered in MSG. I would make this again for myself but not my husband who likes big "manly" meals. I didn't have snow peas so I made this with broccoli and bean sprouts, and put over brown rice. Next time will double sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Wow! This is delightful and incredibly easy to make. Following another review, I doubled the sauce and it was perfect. I then mixed in some brown rice and it soaked up the extra sauce. Very tasty -- I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was really good, however I only gave it 4 stars because I felt the sauce needed to be doubled and it seemed to be "missing" something. I added 4 tsp of Natural Peanut Butter and not only did it enhance the flavour, it also thickened the sauce. I would definitely make this again. FYI: celery and carrots thinly sliced works well with this. I also doubled the qty of sesame seeds with great results. I would also recommend serving rice or pasta with it. (These didn't affect the rating I gave it though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was really good! I might double the sauce next time though, since I like a little bit of sauce with my stir fry, but honestly, really good! And pretty easy to make. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States