Sesame Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Eh. The taste of the sesame oil wasn't the problem - it was just nothing special. It is easy to serve as it can be made ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
I made this three times, each time being a bit different. Overall, this was just a 3/5 because as simple as it is, that's how simple it tastes. I could distinctly taste the vinegar and sesame oil, and it just overpowered the dish. My third attempt, I did everything as stated, but also added some red pepper paste, hint of worcestershire, 1/2 tsp. of crushed garlic, some salt and pepper, and tsp. of oyster sauce. Now it's chilling in the fridge. It's more aromatically pleasing, among other things. Overall, a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
A great different way to serve a great veggie!!! Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
This was great! This would be nice served chilled as well. I also didn't use as much oil and little more sugar. I also added some chopped water chestnuts for some crunch! Thanks for a great broccoli recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I thought this was a tastey side dish that was very easy! I didn't use as much sesame oil either, it's much to strong. And I just bought toasted sesame seeds so I didn't have to bother with the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This was great! It's always nice to have a change for the typical cheese-and-broccoli. I'll try this next time with toasted sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Delicious...makes a wonderful side dish and a nice change from plain steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
i made this recipe because i was very excited about the calorie count and the quick time to make it. it was okay. not fabulous but not bad either. next time i make it, i'll use another user's suggestion and chill it for a bit before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Enjoyed this very much. Served it as a warm side dish with honey ginger salmon. Changed sesame seeds to 1 Tbsp, used 3 Tbsp rice vinegar and only 2 tsp sesame oil. Needed a shaker jar to get sauce/dressing to emulsify. Also used Splenda. Thanks to the reviewers for the comments and to Sara for a great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
It seemed like a real waste to heat up my oven to 375 to toast 2 tb of sesame seeds for 3 minutes so I put them in a small skillet and toasted them on the stovetop. 2 tablesppons of sesame oil is a VERY intense amount of flavor (if you use the toasted asian sesame oil that I assume is supposed to be used). My husband isn't fond of the flavor so I scaled back to 1 tsp of sesame oil and used plain salad oil to make up the difference in the dressing. I think this would be better chilled as a previous reviewer did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States