Sesame Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Tasty, healthy, and quick..both I my husband enjoyed. We didn't let it sit overnight, we ate it lukewarm, right after it was made. The one issue is the marinade is a bit runny..I wish it would stick better, some reviews recommended adding more oil..but I can't bring myself to add the fat calories..maybe I'll try honey in place of sugar/splenda?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Simple side dish but not boring like most. I did it with brown flax seeds and added tomatoes for color contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Sorry this just tasted really bad. Will not make again. Can't put my finger on what is wrong, it is just wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Not very good. Not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
i thought this was VERY yummy. when i make it again i will probably substitute a tablespoon of vinegar for sesame oil so that it sticks to the broccoli a little better. other than that it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This recipe didn't make sense to me because it only calls for two tablespoons of oil for a pound and a half of broccoli. I made some changes, and I think it's a LOT better now. I kept the sesame seeds and broccoli the same, but I didn't blanch the broccoli because the vinegar will soften the broccoli enough. I also added 3-4 T. of rice vinegar, left out the soy sauce, cut the sesame oil to 1 T., cut the sugar down to 1 T. (or used Splenda), added 1/2 C. or less of canola oil, grated fresh ginger and 1 clove of minced garlic (to the dresing). Then, I chilled it for about three hours or so. It was still really crisp the next day. It's low(er) fat and really tasty this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I thought this was delicious, and my family enjoyed it as well. Very nice flavor, and it tasted even better the next day after the broccoli had a chance to really soak up the juice. For those that had a problem with this recipe - it was meant to be served cold. Put it in the fridge for awhile before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I really liked this! I changed a couple things. I used raw broccoli and I used applecider vinegar because I did not have rice vinegar, I tripled the sugar, and used half the amount of sesame oil. I also added a couple dashes of powdered ginger and garlic. It tasted wonderful! I actually couldn't stop eating the broccoli straight out of the freshly made marinade..yummy and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Really good, used some sliced almonds and sunflower seeds-didn't have sesame seeds. Also cut the oil back to 1 tablespoon and used 1 tbsp. of water to cut back on the fat-Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMMATHENY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Easy, great warm or chilled. Added a little garlic and served with the Sesame Seared Tuna from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by themuppett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States