Sesame Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This is really good and a nice way to spruce up regular 'ol broccoli. I toasted my sesame seeds in a skillet vs. heating up my oven - a lot easier. I also used a steam in bag of broccoli to save time. I cut back the sesame oil to one Tbsp. and used low sodium soy sauce. I added some cracked black pepper and let this set for a couple of hours. I served this at room temperature and overall, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
It was o.k., but not outstanding. I brought it to a luncheon, and not one of the 8 ladies present requested the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
A very good alternative to steamed broccoli as a side dish. I let everything marinade for two hours before serviing and the flavors soaked into the broccoli nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
It seemed like a real waste to heat up my oven to 375 to toast 2 tb of sesame seeds for 3 minutes so I put them in a small skillet and toasted them on the stovetop. 2 tablesppons of sesame oil is a VERY intense amount of flavor (if you use the toasted asian sesame oil that I assume is supposed to be used). My husband isn't fond of the flavor so I scaled back to 1 tsp of sesame oil and used plain salad oil to make up the difference in the dressing. I think this would be better chilled as a previous reviewer did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
This is very tasty when served cold. I used vegetable oil in place of the sesame oil. Sesame oil can be overpowering. Thank! I make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Made this recipe for a dinner party, it was great and super easy, I actually just steamed the broccoli and served it cold, let it sit in the fridge for about an hour to let the dressing soak in... very good, Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Enjoyed this very much. Served it as a warm side dish with honey ginger salmon. Changed sesame seeds to 1 Tbsp, used 3 Tbsp rice vinegar and only 2 tsp sesame oil. Needed a shaker jar to get sauce/dressing to emulsify. Also used Splenda. Thanks to the reviewers for the comments and to Sara for a great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
We didn't care for this one at all! I followed the recipe and since it didn't say to cool, I tried it (thus it was lukewarm). Hmmm, didn't really care for it so I thought I'd add some green peppers and mushrooms. Still didn't like it. So I thought I'd chill it to see if it improves. It got even worse. Now I'm throwing out what's left...which is alot! I forced myself to eat one bowl so I didn't feel so bad wasting it (and to see if the taste grows on me). Sorry Sara, this quick salad didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
This was definately a quick and easy salad to prepare. I was torn between a 3 or 4 star rating. This recipe seemed to get quite mixed reviews and I think it is based on whether or not you like sesame oil. I used 1/2 tsp. sesame SEED oil which is found in a small bottle in the oriental food section and is quite strong in flavor. My husband and I really liked the salad (which I served at room temp), but my 3 and 5 year olds gagged on. Would serve it again at a potluck maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
Got rave reviews at our dinner party and my husband loved it! Will use less sesame seeds next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States