Sesame Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
i made this recipe because i was very excited about the calorie count and the quick time to make it. it was okay. not fabulous but not bad either. next time i make it, i'll use another user's suggestion and chill it for a bit before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Enjoyed this very much. Served it as a warm side dish with honey ginger salmon. Changed sesame seeds to 1 Tbsp, used 3 Tbsp rice vinegar and only 2 tsp sesame oil. Needed a shaker jar to get sauce/dressing to emulsify. Also used Splenda. Thanks to the reviewers for the comments and to Sara for a great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
It seemed like a real waste to heat up my oven to 375 to toast 2 tb of sesame seeds for 3 minutes so I put them in a small skillet and toasted them on the stovetop. 2 tablesppons of sesame oil is a VERY intense amount of flavor (if you use the toasted asian sesame oil that I assume is supposed to be used). My husband isn't fond of the flavor so I scaled back to 1 tsp of sesame oil and used plain salad oil to make up the difference in the dressing. I think this would be better chilled as a previous reviewer did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
A very good alternative to steamed broccoli as a side dish. I let everything marinade for two hours before serviing and the flavors soaked into the broccoli nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
This was definately a quick and easy salad to prepare. I was torn between a 3 or 4 star rating. This recipe seemed to get quite mixed reviews and I think it is based on whether or not you like sesame oil. I used 1/2 tsp. sesame SEED oil which is found in a small bottle in the oriental food section and is quite strong in flavor. My husband and I really liked the salad (which I served at room temp), but my 3 and 5 year olds gagged on. Would serve it again at a potluck maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
This is very tasty when served cold. I used vegetable oil in place of the sesame oil. Sesame oil can be overpowering. Thank! I make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Sorry, my family didn't like this one. I think the sesame oil flavoring was way too strong. It should be cut down by at least 2/3 but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
Got rave reviews at our dinner party and my husband loved it! Will use less sesame seeds next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
The flavors were too strong and it was too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Made this recipe for a dinner party, it was great and super easy, I actually just steamed the broccoli and served it cold, let it sit in the fridge for about an hour to let the dressing soak in... very good, Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States