Sesame Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by happywife05
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This is definitely our favorite stir-fry recipe. I do modify it a little, though, as follows: 1. I use stir-fry beef instead of round steak. It comes out much more tender. 2. I double the marinade, but put half in a separate container. This will be the sauce for the stir-fry veggies. 3. First, I put on the beef with its marinade, and let it cook until done. Then, I remove the beef, and add stir fry veggies and pineapple with the other batch of marinade sauce. Once those are crisp tender, I add the meat back in to warm it up, as well as the sesame seeds, and serve over rice or noodles. It's one of my favorite things to eat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
OUTSTANDING!!! My DH and kids were in utter heaven eating this meal! I, too, doubled the recipe, & doubled the marinade. Then cooked the meat quickly, removed it to large bowl while I stir fried fresh broccoli, julienned carrots and onion to tender-crisp, then added the beef back to the skillet and simmered it a little longer in the sauce, thickenening it with a small amount of cornstarch. This was a fantasic one-dish meal! THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WIFEMOMCOOKMAID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I doubled the marinade, and replaced the vegetable oil with one and a half tablespoons of sesame oil so it's a lot less oily. Used half the marinade for the meat and marinated over 24 hours. Then I stir fried the meat for a few minutes, added broccoli and rehydrated dried shitake mushrooms, and the rest of the marinade. Covered and cooked til the broccoli was the way we like it, then added some cornstarch to thicken. My husband said, "You weren't expecting leftovers, were you?" (There are only two of us) Next time I would omit the sesame seeds, as the oil gave it plenty of sesame flavor and the actual seeds got lost in everything else I added. I know some people get upset when you change a recipe and review it the way you made it instead of the recipe, but we like what we like and this was easy and delicious to make the way you like it. Neither of us found this too sweet, but it if you don't like slightly sweet main dishes, you may want to cut the sugar a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Hubs and I really enjoyed this, just as we do most stir fries. However, the amount of sugar called for is about four times more than you need – so I did reduce it to just a fourth of what was directed, and used brown sugar rather than white. It was just right. As for the meat, I wanted something more tender than round steak for this quick cooking method so I used sirloin (No Name Steak, to be exact, that I always keep on hand for this very purpose). I also included some good-sized shrimp and, to make this a complete meal, I stir fried some vegetables as well - baby bok choy, mushrooms, bean sprouts and onions. I sprinkled on the toasted sesame seeds and green onion just before serving, in an amount that seemed right to me rather than measuring. What I loved best about this recipe was its simple, clean flavors, not bogged down by lots of different spices or “heat.”
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
What a great recipe and not at all labour intensive! However, I would recommend a few changes: - Instead of using 4 tbsp each of oil, soy sauce, and sugar... use 4 tbsp soy sauce, 3 tbsp oil, and 2 1/2 tbsp sugar. (If you stick to the original, it may be a little too oil and sweet for your liking.) - Add 2 tbsp of cornstarch to thicken up the sauce - If you want to add veggies (I added asparagus and steamed broccoli), double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Absolutely delicious and very simple. Like a few others I sprinkled in a touch of red pepper flake. I also stir fried with very thinly sliced onion and served over steamed rice - might add some carrot next time. Made some snow peas to accompany. Very good, very easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Oh My Goodness! Thank you for a FABULOUS recipe that was amazingly EASY to make!! I am sharing this one with the daughter in laws!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
Great flavor but a little too sweet. Will use 1/2 the sugar called for next time I make it. I also added broccoli which we found a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
For working moms, this dish is so easy and super fast! I made this last night and my husband loved it. I didn't have any green onions, but it was still tasty. Also, before cooking the beef, I sauted some asparagus spears cut into 2 inch pieces in canola oil and soy sauce with some sesame seeds. Once that was done (about 5 minutes), I removed the asparagus from the pan and cooked the meat. When it came time to add the sesame seeds to the meat, I threw the aspargus in, too. Delicious!!! I served with store-bought egg rolls to round out the meal. We will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
This was very good. The sauce is similar to a marinade I use for shish kabob's. It was a winner with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 548) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States