Sesame Beef Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was really good- I followed the recipe all the way, except I used sirloin instead of tenderloin due to the price- I also took the advice to marinate it for about 4 hours in the fridge. It was delicious! I served up some stir-fried fresh green beans with mine- this was so easy to make, I will make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I used skirt steak,marinated it and grilled the steak for dinner. Lots and lots of flavor!! Easy Peasy and it reminded me of my beef jerky just not as dry:) I will make this again! Thank you very much for sharing a part of you Kerri:) Very Nice! Patty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
These were tasty. I used london broil and marinated for 2 hours. I would recommend a longer marinating time than that as the flavor did not penetrate the meat as much as I would have liked. I think 4 hours would do the trick well. I also had more than 1lb of meat so I doubled the marinade as well as the garlic and garlic chili sauce since we like things hot. I only added about 2 tsp of sesame oil since I don't LOVE it and it can quickly overpower the flavor of a recipe but that is certainly personal taste. I broiled mine for about 5 mins on each side and also cut some larger than others as I like my beef "mooing" off my plate. I would certainly say to toast the sesame seeds before garnishing as it adds a wonderful flavor. Also as a side note dont forget to let the meat rest for a few minutes before you go poking em with toothpicks (I didn't use toothpicks in mine) to let the juices settle a bit otherwise they are gonna run all over the plate instead of staying in the meat like they need to. All in all a good solid recipe they will make a great appy or a great meat for dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
These are yummy! I used sirloin (because tenderloin is pretty expensive here) and it came out good. I marinated for about 2½ hours and the flavour was noticeable - next time I will marinate longer. Made my own teriyaki sauce and ended up putting the finished bites into a saucepan with the teriyaki (because I wanted the sauce to stick more.) Added a bit of cornstarch to thicken it up - Worked perfectly! Must have taken a few minutes to do. I didn't serve it as an appetizer, but instead served this over vegetable lo mien which I stir fried in some teriyaki sauce to compliment the bites. It was great! Yummy! I will definitely make this again - just as an appetizer or to serve with another dish. Great both ways. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
We liked this recipe but I did it a bit differently. I used a cheaper cut of steak but still marinated it for the same amount of time. Instead of cubing the meat I thinly sliced it and then after marinating it I cooked it over high heat on the stovetop like a stir fry. Leftovers were excellent also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Very delicious! I used sirloin and marinaded for about 4 hours. Turned out very tender with lots of flavour. We had as a main course and served it over brown rice with a side of stir-fried veggies. As suggested by other reviewers, make sure you don't forget the sesame seeds. They really add to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I marinated overnight and panfried instead of baking. I also mixed in teriyaki right into the marinade. Served with Udon noodles. Very yummy - the bf went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This was wonderful!!! DH loved it & wants me to make it again soon. I couldn't find any garlic chili sauce at the grocery store :-( but used regular chili sauce & added garlic powder. We had this as a main dish & had rice & mixed veggies to go with it. I was really, really pleased with this recipe!! Thanks for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easley, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This was very good. It was so simple to make and tasted great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Made as written. I'll use it again. I served it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States