Sesame Asian Tofu Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Minnie
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I'm glad I read the reviews before I attempted this. I followed the recipe for the most part but I used only about 1 to 1.5 TBS of oil. I also used 10 cloves of garlic (because I looove garlic) and also put about half of cup of white onions in it when I browned the garlic. I didn't have thai chili sauce so I used korean hot chili oil instead (prob very similiar). When I was stir frying the veggies I put a little more sesame oil in it and also put maybe half a TBS of more hot chili oil when I added the noodles(I like my food spicy!). I also used udon noodles instead of linguine. I bought a pack of precooked udon noodles at the korean supermarket. I put in a bowl of warm water and let it sit (the noodles will seperate). Drain it and then put in the hot pan (or wok if you have one) with the sauted veggies and about 1/4 cup of water. The sauce was awesome, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This is a spicy and sweet recipe. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I used sesame oil and agree with the other reviews that there is too much in the original recipe (I would use about 1/2). I also think there is too much vinegar so would 1/2 that as well. Because the vinegar was too strong I ended up doubling the sauce which ended up being the perfect amount with a package of bean threads which I used instead of the noodles. I also like things hotter so doubled the amount of chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I used around 13 oz of noodles instead and that is perhaps why I didn't find it too greasy. I would agree though that the amount of oil can be reduced. Overall a comfort food for me for sure and a great way to use tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was good; however, I should preface this review with I began making a tofu w/ veggies in a peanut sauce- different recipe but didn't realize I had no peanut butter. I used this sauce as a last minute fill-in. Will make definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkgramlich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
In order to make the sauce you have to cook it down and reduce it! Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wabash, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
of course, i made a few changes. awesome husband and i don't eat tofu. also, i have found this great frozen bag of veggies that includes just a bit of pasta. it's got broccoli, red peppers, carrots, water chestnuts, string beans, and onion. i scaled this back to 2 servings and followed step 1 exactly, up to stirring in the tofu. then i heated the sesame oil in the pan and added my frozen veg, cooking for about 6 minutes. then i added the sauce back in and cooked over medium for about two minutes, stirring and folding the sauce in. i decided to top with some regular and black sesame seeds because i have a ton of them and want to use them up. we thought this was delicious! definitely will be added to our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waxing witch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I used far less oil, but this was really yummy. I used carrots, red peppers, and shelled edamame for my veggies along with the tofu of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Alright. Subtle flavor. I thought it was too sweet. I would also add more garlic and some crushed red chili for some kick. Great with Ramen noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My husband lets the tofu simmer in the sauce to make the tofu firmer & we put it over brown rice. We usually leave all the veggies out too. If anyone is a fan of szechuan tofu or sweet and sour tofu or anything sweet then you will like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States