Serious Herb Cheese Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I couldn't understand what I was doing wrong with this when the softened cream cheese was so difficult to combine with the other ingredients. So, I added a little milk and beat it with an electric mixer. That was a bad idea. As it sits in the fridge it somehow comes together and softens. Our friends loved the flavor, but I thought it was too runny, so next time I'll stick to the original recipe. I think I might try whipped cream creese too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Tastes good, but not the greatest. I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This spread is DELICIOUS!!! I made this for a church gathering and everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. This spread is extremely easy to make and is just so refreshing with all the fresh herbs and lemon juice. I will definitely keep this one on hand for many future uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anthem, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I have received rave reviews on this dip. I make it for every gathering! So easy to put together even I can't mess it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Everyone loved this fresh take on a cheeseball. I served it w/ large Wheat Thins and used less dill and more worchestershire. About half was eaten at my Christmas party, so I remolded it *blush* and served it again at my family get together a few days later. It was even better the 2nd time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Fabulous. I leave out the olives and dill. Almost everyone loves this. The only ones that I came across that don't care for this is those that prefer the package mixes. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
'Serious Herb' is right! It had great flavor, however next time I will use a tad bit less of each herb and probably roast the garlic first. There's nothing like raw garlic breath :( Also used kalmata olives, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I love this recipe. Had lots of herbs leftover from other dishes so I tried it out. The garlic, wooster and mustard add tremendous flavor! I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This is not your average cream cheese spread; this is something special indeed! I used slightly less then 1/4 cup of each herb and an extra garlic clove, and it was perfect. I tasted it before adding the lemon juice and I have to say that the lemon really brightened the flavor. I used kalamata olives and was glad that I didn’t use canned black olives. This spread will become one of our staples when we have an all appetizer gathering. Finding this recipe felt a little like winning the lottery! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I doubled this recipe for a New Year's party. Using 4 Tbsp. of lemon juice was a big mistake! Too lemon-y. Ugh. But okay on a Wheat Thin. I can't comment on the original recipe, but I will NOT be using that much juice again (only 1 Tbsp. for the normal serving size). Other than that, everyone seemed to enjoy the cheese ball. I would make this again. I also think it's easy to adjust by adding some different herbs. Overall, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States