Serbian Pork and Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I think it calls for 2 hocks too many. Frankly, I’d use diced pork chops rather than the hocks, since the recipe also calls for bacon. I will cook in a frying pan or a Le Crueset type pan that will transfer into the oven, fry the rice until golden, use the refrigerated sauerkraut, not the canned. What, no fennel seed? I think I will cover the pan in the oven for 25 minutes, then remove the cover, and cooked an additional 10 or 15 minutes. It sounds delicious - Serbians rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I made this recipe for my boyfriend's serbian family party and it was the favorite dish among several people there, including myself. It's still being talked about a week later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Awesome! I slow cooked only one hock in the chicken broth, then used the chopped hock meat and then followed the directions exactly. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Thank you for posting this! I made it for my family of 5 and all loved it. Cooked it exactly as listed here - oh, sorry, a little lie there - I chopped up 2 pork chops instead of the meat from the hocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I really like beef, pork, sauerkraut, and rice, and I also enjoy trying new recipes. My expectations were modest, mostly due to the lack of seasonings in this casserole (which, according to Wikipedia, is typical for Serbian cooking). But wow. This casserole is amazing! The ingredients themselves provide ample flavor. The only changes I made were cooking it entirely on the stovetop instead of baking it, using a pork chop instead of pork hocks, and using a good-quality chicken stock instead of broth. I'll definitely make this again--in fact, I'm going to get up and do that right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Mmm! This is so good! I did everything exactly as written and cooked it for 35 mins! Thanks! SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I used a ground veal/beef/pork packet I got on sale. I also did the stovetop method, browned the rice and added 1 tsp. ground fennel, 1/4 tsp. dill seed and about 1/2 tbsp. paprika and was generous with the pepper. Adding this to my winter repertoire...it's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Gratiot, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I didn't have pork hocks or chops so made it with ground beef and a little more bacon than the recipe called for. I was a bit unsure of what to expect from this recipe although all the other reviews were good. It is a fantastic dish! I was surprised how flavorful it is with very little seasoning. I guess the bacon and saurkraut gives it all it needs. My husband loved this and had three servings! It made a great leftover for lunch. Thanks for sharing this interesting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Bambam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I followed the recipe and I just found it to be rather bland, though I'm also not big on casseroles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Being unfamiliar with Serbian food, I can't claim that this is "authentic." Tasty, though, it is! It has very interesting flavors, and my teenage boys have requested that I make it again some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States