Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This was delicious! The smell that filled our house while it was in the oven was intoxicating. It made me feel so homey and fall-like. The only adjustment I would make next time is adding more salt. I would probably up it to a full teaspoon. But other then that...it was great!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ossipee, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I made this as written, and doubled the potatoes. Enjoyed the flavor of the meat, but the potatoes were soggy on the bottom, and dry on top. Might make again, but place the meat mixture in the bottom and top with mashed potatoes, more like a cottage pie. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason and Ella's G-Ma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Holts Summit, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I tripled the water, wine and half and half so it would be saucy and mixed with cooked egg noodles (no potatoes) no baking. The family liked it but thought it was "too spicy" so next time I will cut back on black peper and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
We thought this recipe was very tasty: will prepare again- may add some green olives think it might add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This was great! I followed the advise of a reviewer who mentioned layering the dish with a potato layer in the middle. I did two things differently: 1 large sweet potato in place of the 2 potatoes (b/c it's what we had on hand), and sprinkled the top with crumbled feta cheese. My husband loved it and he had spent some time in Turkey - loves eastern european cuisine! The idea of this dish reminds me of a Turkish layered vegetable bake that I have made for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This recipe is brilliant. A really interesting combination of flavours and a hearty meal. I don't make any changes other than adjusting the amount of potatoes to make sure I've got enough layering the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Great recipe! I made it as given except that I made a sort of parfait, alternating equally sized layers of beef and layers of potato. I thought this was a great proportion, it would have been way too beefy with less potatoes. My picky toddler ate it too (because we told him it was shepherd's pie).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rora Starita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hickory Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Good receipe. More flavor than I was expecting. I did change a few things though. I used ground turkey instead of beef and made sure to add shredded sharp cheddar cheese on the top layer of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Delicious! instead of wine (dont drink) and water i used a vegatable broth, didnt have paprika used basil, used 3 potatos. next time will propably omit the half and half and will probably just cook it stove - the layered potatos on top didnt seem to taste as cooked as i like..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Excellent! The only change I made was to add more potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States