Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Pretty good. Not something for me to make weekly, but great when I'm looking for something easy and a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
We looooved this dish...especially the hubby! A hearty and flavorful meal. Next time I will add a middle layer of potatoes as other reviewers have suggested. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Dimas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This wasn't bad, although I would season the top layer of potatoes next time. Otherwise both my husband and I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selinna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Taste good. Added chesse to the top and omitted the ground cloves (didn't have them on hand) This is a good budget friendly meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
My boyfriend really, really likes this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Wow this was surprisingly very good! I added a layer of yellow squash over the meat before adding the top potatoes. This is a great, easy on the pocket book dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very tasty. I put in a layer of potatos in the middle as suggested in previous reviews. Without them there would be too much meat. With them, just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was exactly what I was looking for when I started tonight's dinner search. Something with hamburger and potatoes and a nice flavor. The kids loved it. I doubled the recipe and spiced it exactly as directed in a 13x9 pan. Changes I made were using milk instead of half/half, omitting green peppers and wine and adding a few cubed potatoes during the saute of the vegetables. All the leftovers were eaten the next day which is very rare in my home. The only odd thing about the dish was the bottom potatoes were seasoned because they absorbed what the meat did not. The top layer of potatoes were plain and white. But it made for a nice flavor abstract so it didnt all seem the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMANNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I've tried lots of new recipes lately without much success. Finally a winner....last night's Serbian Beef w/Veggies turned out great. Hubby loved it and suggested it for future potlucks. Picky teens loved it and even went back for seconds. Great option for ground beef with a tasty, unique flavor! I followed the recipe fairly closely, only omitting the cream since others said it mattered little and we don't usually add those extras anyway. I did dice up the celery really small so it would be more akin to the diced peppers & onions. Since I didn't have green pepper, I used 1/2 red and 1/2 yellow which was actually nice since the celery already contributed a green color. I also added minced garlic to the sauteed veggies, onion salt & garlic powder to the browning beef. The other spices I used as suggested except probably only about half the crushed red pepper (and the dish was spicy enough). I dissolved the boullion in the water before adding to the mix to make sure it wasn't still lumpy. I doubled the wine to make sure there'd be enough broth to keep the dish moist and cook the potatoes. As for the potatoes, I sliced 6 medium size red potatoes, with skin on, for the the top and bottom layers (1/2 each). I also peeled and cubed 2 medium size yams which I added to the beef & veggie mixtures. However, I sauteed/steamed them with the carrots for a bit before adding them since to make they'd be cooked enough. Baked 50 mins w/cover, 10 mins without. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
My family loved this! What a great alternative to shepherd's pie! I pretty much followed the recipe but added minced garlic (I add this to eveything) and left out the cloves. I used about a half tsp chili flakes instead of the crushed red pepper and it had a nice bite to it. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Beef Enchilada Bake

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy beef enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States