Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
After eating the same thing night after night, I came across this and gave it a shot. It was fantastic. I ditched the celery and went with a red pepper instead and added an extra 1/2 tablespoon of half and half, since my ground beef was 93/7. We will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
An excellent meal. Serve it with pitas or naan bread. I think the next time I make it I would like to try a pinch of cardamon and lower the black pepper by a 1/4 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
We enjoyed this spicy international meal tonight. I added a middle layer of potatoes to offset the "too much meat" problem. I also sprinkled more paprika onto the potatoes....spicy and good! Unfortunately, I was out of green pepper, but it tasted great anyway. We had steamed green beans to balance out the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This is one of our favorite recipe. Very tasty! We do more layers of potatoes and Add the egg mixture on top in the end of cooking as suggested by a Serbian reviewer. I would not have it any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This is the second time that we have tried this dish. The first time I was way heavy handed with the red pepper. We loved the taste but it was so hot we could not breath afterward, LOL. This time I used about half what is recommended and am looking forward to really enjoying this dish. I love the cinnamon, clove, allspice and paprika mix. Oh by the way I used all the veggies it called for and the threw in a half a package of frozen veggies on top of that and still used 4 red potatoes for layers on top and bottom. I used Better Than Bouillon, a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce and increased the wine to 1/2 cup. I also thickened the sauce with corn starch and water since I increased the liquids by quite a bit. My husband and I are both meat and potato people and I suspect this is going to a easy go to dish. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Did not care for this at all. Smelled great while cooking. Took one bite and that was enough. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Exceptional!!! I used red potatoes and doubled the crushed red pepper. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I love this recipe. A little on the spicy side so if you're making for kids I'd cut back on the heat. Otherwise delicious. The only change I make was not adding clove (I didn't have any) and also didn't have any beef bouillon cubes so I used half a packet of beef flavor from ramon noodles. Mine turned out really good. Also I'm not sure if I sliced my potatoes thinner than most but mine only needed 30 min to bake before the potatoes were tender. Overall delicious and I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Great meal. Added exra crushed pepper because I like the extra burn in my mouth. Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Delicious accompanied with salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States