Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Awesome they clean it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
My fiancée is eastern European and his mom makes a dish similar to this that he loves. I used small yellow potatoes so I didn't bother peeling them. I sliced them fairly thin and then par-boiled for about 10 minutes, then drained well and let them cool. I used smoked paprika and added a couple of cloves of crushed garlic when I added the spices to the meat/veggie mixture. I used low sodium beef broth instead of water because I had some in the fridge to use up, then skipped on the bouillon cube. Also doubled the amount of all liquids. The recipe is right in calling for just a pinch of cinnamon and cloves...they added a beautiful aroma without being overpowering. Allspice would have been nice too. I did 3 layers of potatoes instead of just 2 because some other reviewers mentioned that they thought it would be better with more. I also sprinkled each layer of potatoes with just a touch of vegeta seasoning (careful not to make it too salty though!) I made this the night before and we popped it in the oven the next night for dinner. Reduced the heat to 350 and cooked for about 30 mins only since I had parboiled the potatoes. Then uncovered and cooked about 15 mins longer to get the top potatoes a little crispy. It was fantastic! Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Not bad, but not making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy-p

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I've made this a few times now for my family and extended family for a total of 9 people, ranging from 7 years old to 70. Everyone loves it. It's been a couple months so I'm making it again tonight at my wife's request. Tastes delicious and easy to prepare. I skip the wine and the cream, and of course I add a lot more of each ingredient to accommodate the additional servings. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BillJol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
A great, hearty dish. The cinnamon and cloves really add a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I was looking for something different to make and I had all the ingredients. We all agreed it was good and the flavor was ok but the recipe just didn't WOW us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
We really liked this dish. The spice blend was great and advice from other reviewers like a third layer of potatoes along with a little extra paprika made this perfect. I used apple juice for the wine part. This is a nice change and one we will enjoy in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I discovered this recipe several years ago and have been making it ever since. I make it about once a week now. It is truly wonderful. I use a mandolin to slice the potatoes, which saves tons of time. It's actually not at all labor intensive, though guests are always impressed by the way it looks. Not to mention its flavor... :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Jaffa, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I didn't have celery so I left that out and the red pepper flakes. I used a mix of regular potatoes and sweet potatoes...it was great! My 2 year old ate it up! My five year old wasn't a fan, but I never get both of them to like the same thing. I did do the middle layer of potatoes as was suggested and thought the mean to potato balance was good. Used 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and cloves as a pinch as people suggested too. The house still smells great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muscatine, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I loved it! I make it all the time...often double batches. Never lasts long. To cut down on prep time, I put all my veggies in with the meat when it's browning. I don't fully brown the meat before baking so it doesn't totally dry out. I also mix the spices and liquids before pouring it over the meat so it distributes evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States