Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Flavorful tips: i cut the pepper down to a generous 1/4 tsp. If you do not have cloves, substitute with Allspice. I seasoned the meat with salt and pepper, browned and added the veggies to the dish (undrained meaning I skipped the oil). Do not overcook the veggies as you will be baking this dish. I added 3 cloves of garlic (minced). Add the seasonings as above. Skip the water (no flavor) and double the wine. Throw in bouillon. Skip the half and half and add 1/4 to 1/2 cup sour cream. Slice and season your potatoes with salt and pepper. Butter the bottom of the dish, layer with potatoes, add meat mixture, layer with more potatoes, add meat mixture, top with potatoes. Cover and bake 375 for 40-50 mins until potatoes tender. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Good comfort food. Followed recipe as shown. A new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
My family decided that this tasted more like a shepherds pie with cinnamon/clove flavours than moussaka. I followed other reviewers suggestions and made a middle layer of potatoes (4 pots in total) and chopped some fresh parsley to add on top of each potato layer. It was a little bland for us but we still enjoyed it. Thanks amanda1432
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Fantastic! I would not change this recipe either- use the extra large potatoes for more coverage on top of meat. Unlike other reviewers, I do not think you need an extra starch (maybe try a baguette?) but this is really good served with a salad. I used a basic vinaigrette and it complemented the spices well. This is a great way to shake up the weekly food routine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I tried this and really liked it. I have made a Mussaka but it took a lot more time. Worth it if you have the time. This was perfect for extra ground beef and was pretty quick. I added a layer of squash. Mostly because I had some and needed to use it. It was great! I really luv new things to make out of stuff you already have. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Very good, Go easy with the clove and cinnamon, It takes very little. Very different which made it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
My husband grandparents immigrated from Serbia and he says this reminds him of his grandmother's cooking. It's easy to prepare and healthier than those processed box meals. We have this with a green salad for a complete meal. The leftovers are even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Wow! This was great! I used my food processor slicing blade to get even, thin slices of potato. I also followed recommendations and increased the potatoes to about one pound of potatoes. This was spicy, with a lovely flavor different from anything else I've made. I'll be making this again! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This recipe is absolutely wonderful! My family loved it and it will definitely become a dish that we make over and over again. I took the suggestions of a few others by doubling the potatoes and easing up a bit on the chopped vegetables, but I kept everything else as is. It was perfect, perfect, perfect... My love for this recipe stems from the spice/flavor combination. I had my doubts but I thought that the combination was absolutely delicious. Don't change a thing when it comes to the flavor when you make this dish. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MusicalCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Very tasty and my boyfriend loved it! I used Nature's Seasonings on the ground beef. Add veggies to beef to cook and skipped olive oil. Used milk instead of cream. Added salt, pepper, paprika and parsley to top layer. Forgot to peel potatoes and did one layer on top and bottom only without one the middle....and it still got rave reviews. Smelled delicious while cooking. For some this may be a meatier dish than they like but it was perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States