Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Fantastic! I would not change this recipe either- use the extra large potatoes for more coverage on top of meat. Unlike other reviewers, I do not think you need an extra starch (maybe try a baguette?) but this is really good served with a salad. I used a basic vinaigrette and it complemented the spices well. This is a great way to shake up the weekly food routine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I tried this and really liked it. I have made a Mussaka but it took a lot more time. Worth it if you have the time. This was perfect for extra ground beef and was pretty quick. I added a layer of squash. Mostly because I had some and needed to use it. It was great! I really luv new things to make out of stuff you already have. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Very good, Go easy with the clove and cinnamon, It takes very little. Very different which made it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
My husband grandparents immigrated from Serbia and he says this reminds him of his grandmother's cooking. It's easy to prepare and healthier than those processed box meals. We have this with a green salad for a complete meal. The leftovers are even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Wow! This was great! I used my food processor slicing blade to get even, thin slices of potato. I also followed recommendations and increased the potatoes to about one pound of potatoes. This was spicy, with a lovely flavor different from anything else I've made. I'll be making this again! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This recipe is absolutely wonderful! My family loved it and it will definitely become a dish that we make over and over again. I took the suggestions of a few others by doubling the potatoes and easing up a bit on the chopped vegetables, but I kept everything else as is. It was perfect, perfect, perfect... My love for this recipe stems from the spice/flavor combination. I had my doubts but I thought that the combination was absolutely delicious. Don't change a thing when it comes to the flavor when you make this dish. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MusicalCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Very tasty and my boyfriend loved it! I used Nature's Seasonings on the ground beef. Add veggies to beef to cook and skipped olive oil. Used milk instead of cream. Added salt, pepper, paprika and parsley to top layer. Forgot to peel potatoes and did one layer on top and bottom only without one the middle....and it still got rave reviews. Smelled delicious while cooking. For some this may be a meatier dish than they like but it was perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
It was awesome, and I will double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
As others have mentioned, the seasoning for the meat is excellent! I did make a bunch of changes based on what I had availability and due to time restrictions. For vegetables, I only used onion and shitake mushrooms. I used cayenne pepper instead of red pepper flakes. I used vegetable bouillon instead of beef bouillon. And I used milk instead of half and half. The crazy, major change I made was that I did everything on the stove. I cooked the beef in a frying pan and simultaneously cooked the onions, mushrooms, and potatoes in a separate pan. When the beef was done (all seasonings and liquid added), I added this to the potato mixture. I then covered this and let the potatoes cook in the liquid from the beef. It turned out surprisingly well! I do want to try in the oven next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salsera713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallandale, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Great weeknight meal. I didn't have a green pepper so I used some red cabbage. I know, not really related but still tasted good. I put a dollop of sour cream, and maybe added a little more than an 1/8 of a cup of wine;-). Almost everything in this recipe I could use my CSA share on with the exception of the celery. My six year old had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States