Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This was good, and easy to make with most ingredients already on hand. It didn't "wow" me, but I will likely make again. I didn't have crushed red pepper so I used a dash of cayenne. I liken it to a different take on traditional shepherds pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
My husband is on a low carb diet so we make this with ground turkey and skip the potatoes. I also use three tablespoons of greek yogurt instead of the half and half. The result is a low fat, low carb meal with lots of flavor! The mix of the spices is so unique. This is a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
The meat mixture is so nicely seasoned, it tasted great, however as a whole this dish was not a success for me. The potatoes needed seasoning and would have looked and tasted better if the top layer was browned towards the end of the cooking time. The casserole itself crumbled all over our plates, I think it needs something to bind it together but I'm not sure what...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
My husband and I really liked this. I omitted the oil as it was unnecessary with the ground beef juices. I increased the veggies by adding a sliced zucchini, 2 chopped tomatoes and about half a pound of sliced mushrooms; I don't know how authentic these additions are, but they were tasty. I slightly increased the seasoning to flavor the additional vegetables. I also used 3 small Yukon gold potatoes and left the skin on to retain nutrients, and included a middle potato layer. I used smoked paprika this time, but next time I think I'll try it with the regular variety. All the veggies made my version relatively low-calorie (especially for such generous servings), and even with all the potatoes it was still well within my diabetic husband's carb range. This was a nice use of ground beef that didn't involve my fall-back Mexican seasoning combos. I will definitely make it again, but I think I'll keep adding extra veg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
A Serbian friend came over to try this dish the first time I made it and told me I could substitute the potatoes with eggplant also! I'm going to try that next! All of the spices work wonderfully together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Good spice combination, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingerbreadgirlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
delicious nice and spicy would double up potatos i would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Fabulous casserole! I tried this for the first time last night and made it exactly as written. It turned out great. My family really liked the spicy flavor of this dish. Just had some as leftovers, and it was just as good if not better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Really good! It tastes like authentic Balkan food and reminds me of Bosnia. Anyone making this recipe should use 4 potatoes instead of 2 and make sure the bottom is completely covered with them. Also, use 50% more paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Was hopeful about this recipe, but we just thought it was OK, will not fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States