Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I doubled the recipe and followed others advice to include diced potatoes in the meat mixture as well. We all liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
It was amazing!!!The only thing was that prep time for me was about 45 min. But other than that it was easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Bowman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Really quick, easy and tasty meal to prepare. Even our two year old grandson liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Very good and satisfying. It's a different version of the traditional Shepard 's pie. I made some brown rice to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My family and I enjoyed this main dish but it didn't have that "Wow!" factor to warrant a 5 star rating. My husband would agree with other reviews that there should be more potatoes added to the dish. He was also of the opinion that this could be made entirely in the covered frying pan rather than baking to save some time/energy -- I followed the recipe and was happy with those results. I used just a "pinch" of both ground cinnamon and cloves which seemed to be about the right amount for my family (who aren't really keen on these flavours in meats or main dish sauces). So, I would not be inclined to increase the quantity of cloves, as suggested by some reviewers. Still, a great combination of flavours and a well rounded main dish. Great recipe for an experiment based on verbal descriptions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Major substitutions here since I didn't have many of the ingredients on hand but I wanted to try out the flavors. My husband really liked this recipe (as modified), the kids were "meh". Like other reviewers, it seemed like it was short on potatoes so I used enough potatoes to make 3 layers - a bottom, middle and top layer. I also cooked the potatoes in the microwave before layering them so the oven part was really to melt the cheese. Oh yeah, I added a bit of shredded cheddar cheese on top hoping that it could assuage any complaints. I left out the celery and bouillon since I just didn't have these. I made the following substitutions with success: - ground turkey in place of beef - vegetable stock in place of water - butter in place of half and half Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This is a nice change of pace. I used 3 russet potatoes and layered them, as another reviewer suggested, potato/meat mixture/potato/meat/potato. Then I topped the potato layer with about a Tbs of butter pats and Parmesan cheese. I also used the allspice as suggested. Quite good. And the 2 year old and 5 year old ate it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I am giving it 5 stars because the flavor was really great! It truly only feeds 4 people, though. Not a big issue I will just add more meat next time. I can see how some people had problems with the potatoes not being tasty. I seasoned every layer with s&p and paprika. I then dotted the potatoes with duck fat and cooked uncovered. The potatoes came out slightly crisp and oh so good! Oh and I took one reviewers idea and didn't remove the beef to cook the veg. I just undercooked the beef before putting all the veg in to cook. Easy peasy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANNASR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was a delicious recipe that I will add to my "must make again" file. The mix of seasonings added so much flavor, I raved over it long after it was gone. My husband can tend to be fussy about "new things" and he really enjoyed it too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE53

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellsboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This was good, really good, but next time i'm changing it to reduce the black pepper, and add more cinnamon and nutmeg - just my own preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States