Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This was great! I followed the advise of a reviewer who mentioned layering the dish with a potato layer in the middle. I did two things differently: 1 large sweet potato in place of the 2 potatoes (b/c it's what we had on hand), and sprinkled the top with crumbled feta cheese. My husband loved it and he had spent some time in Turkey - loves eastern european cuisine! The idea of this dish reminds me of a Turkish layered vegetable bake that I have made for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This recipe is brilliant. A really interesting combination of flavours and a hearty meal. I don't make any changes other than adjusting the amount of potatoes to make sure I've got enough layering the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Great recipe! I made it as given except that I made a sort of parfait, alternating equally sized layers of beef and layers of potato. I thought this was a great proportion, it would have been way too beefy with less potatoes. My picky toddler ate it too (because we told him it was shepherd's pie).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rora Starita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hickory Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Good receipe. More flavor than I was expecting. I did change a few things though. I used ground turkey instead of beef and made sure to add shredded sharp cheddar cheese on the top layer of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Delicious! instead of wine (dont drink) and water i used a vegatable broth, didnt have paprika used basil, used 3 potatos. next time will propably omit the half and half and will probably just cook it stove - the layered potatos on top didnt seem to taste as cooked as i like..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Excellent! The only change I made was to add more potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Didn't have the wine or red pepper, but still pretty darn good. Making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I found this recipe after searching the site for a ground beef recipe and after reading the reviews decided to try it...certainly glad I did. My husband, daughter and I all enjoyed the flavor. I used a port wine I had on hand...next time I'll use a different red wine. Will definitely make this again. Very interesting flavor and just the right spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Pretty good. Not something for me to make weekly, but great when I'm looking for something easy and a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
We looooved this dish...especially the hubby! A hearty and flavorful meal. Next time I will add a middle layer of potatoes as other reviewers have suggested. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Dimas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States