Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Made this exactly as written and it was delicious. It has a little (tiny) kick that adds great flavor, but if you have kids that can't take any heat, you may want to scale down or omit the crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This is fantastic! I did the spices exactly as recipe says. I Didn't have celery, carrots, or bell pepper (weird, right?), so I subbed broccoli. I did add a center layer of potatoes; good call, other reviewer. On top of the uppermost potatoes, I added a mixture of 2 tablespoons almond milk, 1 tablespoon olive oil, and rosemary/garlic seasoning. (Didn't use half-n-half due to some lactose intolerance). Man, this was incredibly flavorful. All family members wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liser
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Family devoured it. I sprinkled salt, pepper and paprika to potato layers. Used 3 medium potatoes with skins on to make 3 layers. Cooked veggies with meat. I used 1/2 and 1/2, but not sure how much it adds to dish. Uncovered last 15 minutes to crisp top potato layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
So glad to see something different! Only changes I made was to use Beef Stock in place of the water and omit the beef bouillon to avoid all the additives they throw in the cubes. I'm avoiding milk so used full fat coconut milk in place of the half & half. I like the suggestion to use an additional layer of potatoes in the middle. I'll do that next time. Overall a VERY good recipe! I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Very flavorful. Made a lot of substitutions, and it was still delicious. I don't eat red meat so used ground turkey. Boyfriend doesn't like green peppers so used a red pepper. Used non-fat milk instead of half and half. And didn't like the way my potato looked, so used a sweet potato! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByteSized

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
We really enjoy this recipe. We love exotic flavors, so I probably double the spices (just eyeballed it) and I always add extra red pepper flake at the table because I like it hot! I've read reviews that suggest layering the potatoes but I've also just tossed them in and mixed everything together and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pearlgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
After eating the same thing night after night, I came across this and gave it a shot. It was fantastic. I ditched the celery and went with a red pepper instead and added an extra 1/2 tablespoon of half and half, since my ground beef was 93/7. We will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
An excellent meal. Serve it with pitas or naan bread. I think the next time I make it I would like to try a pinch of cardamon and lower the black pepper by a 1/4 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
We enjoyed this spicy international meal tonight. I added a middle layer of potatoes to offset the "too much meat" problem. I also sprinkled more paprika onto the potatoes....spicy and good! Unfortunately, I was out of green pepper, but it tasted great anyway. We had steamed green beans to balance out the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This is one of our favorite recipe. Very tasty! We do more layers of potatoes and Add the egg mixture on top in the end of cooking as suggested by a Serbian reviewer. I would not have it any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States