Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
We liked this. I thought while making this that the tiny amount of wine, cinnamon and clove would not make any difference. Well I was wrong. You only need a small amount of each. I added another layer of potatoes in the middle of the casserole. All in all I used 5. I did season them with canola oil and seasoned salt before putting them in the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
The smell and flavor of this is wonderful. The whole family liked it too which for me is a major plus. It isn't a flashy dish but it is easy and hearty. I topped my own portion off with a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
In the meat mixture at the very end I put in 1/2 teaspoon paprika (smoked paprika is really great). You need to add enough liquid to just reach the top potatoe layer (I put a little water, wine in the pan used to saute the meat and swish it around) then pour over the potatoes. After the water is absorbed (if not absorbed after 1 hour I add quick oats around the edges to absorb the liquid and thicken), uncover the dish and leave in the oven for 5-10 minutes so the top is a golden brown. P.S. When I am in a hurry I use 2 boxes of Scalloped potatoes and the sauce included, make sure you leave out the salt and boullion since the sauce mix is salty. Sometimes I use applesauce to hold the meat together if I am out of eggs. Be creative add cheese, or french cut green beans, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lemont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Awesome they clean it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
My fiancée is eastern European and his mom makes a dish similar to this that he loves. I used small yellow potatoes so I didn't bother peeling them. I sliced them fairly thin and then par-boiled for about 10 minutes, then drained well and let them cool. I used smoked paprika and added a couple of cloves of crushed garlic when I added the spices to the meat/veggie mixture. I used low sodium beef broth instead of water because I had some in the fridge to use up, then skipped on the bouillon cube. Also doubled the amount of all liquids. The recipe is right in calling for just a pinch of cinnamon and cloves...they added a beautiful aroma without being overpowering. Allspice would have been nice too. I did 3 layers of potatoes instead of just 2 because some other reviewers mentioned that they thought it would be better with more. I also sprinkled each layer of potatoes with just a touch of vegeta seasoning (careful not to make it too salty though!) I made this the night before and we popped it in the oven the next night for dinner. Reduced the heat to 350 and cooked for about 30 mins only since I had parboiled the potatoes. Then uncovered and cooked about 15 mins longer to get the top potatoes a little crispy. It was fantastic! Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Not bad, but not making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy-p

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I've made this a few times now for my family and extended family for a total of 9 people, ranging from 7 years old to 70. Everyone loves it. It's been a couple months so I'm making it again tonight at my wife's request. Tastes delicious and easy to prepare. I skip the wine and the cream, and of course I add a lot more of each ingredient to accommodate the additional servings. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BillJol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
A great, hearty dish. The cinnamon and cloves really add a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I was looking for something different to make and I had all the ingredients. We all agreed it was good and the flavor was ok but the recipe just didn't WOW us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
We really liked this dish. The spice blend was great and advice from other reviewers like a third layer of potatoes along with a little extra paprika made this perfect. I used apple juice for the wine part. This is a nice change and one we will enjoy in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina

Displaying results 21-30 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States