Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
We loved the combination of favors in this dish. I was skeptical about the cinnamon and cloves, but trusted the reviews I read, and went for it. I chopped up a potato and threw it in the ground beef mixture, and sliced another extra potato to add a middle layer, meaning I used 4 potatoes total. I was trying to stretch the dish to feed my family of 7. It worked well. Everything else was followed, except I used a 2 tablespoons sour cream instead of half-and-half (as I read someone else had done), and a couple splashes red wine vinegar instead of red wine. I think it's a pretty forgiving recipe. I want to remember this one as a way to make a pound of ground beef go a little further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chmeliar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This recipe is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
We really enjoyed this although for the kids they thought it too spicy. I will make this again. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This dish is perfect on a fall evening. Regardless of your native palate this is a classic comfort food, an exotic yet familiar menagerie of spices that leaves your soul satisfied. I recommend doubling the spices, adding garlic powder. Adding 1/4 tsp each of cinnamon and cloves really kicks up the exotic factor. adding the meat back in with the veggies toss in a couple TB of flour, as it will thicken the juices and keep the meat tender while it bakes uncovered
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Flavors were okay, but it needed more liquid, perhaps a simple gravy type texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I love this meal, so does my family. I made it two weeks in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This was great, was looking for something to do with some ground beef I had and tried this out. As someone said- don't leave out the pinches of cloves and cinnamon. I'm not a big fan of sweet type spices in my meat, but it adds a lot to this recipe, and the pepper flakes I went a hair heavy on and it complements the spice it added. As other commenters suggested, I did three layers of potatoes and spiced the potatoes, I added salt/pepper/garlic powder/paprika to them. I didn't expect much and was very pleasantly surprised by this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This had amazing flavor. Easy to make also (I enjoy chopped vegetables). My hubby said it was fantastic, the best thing I'd ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This dish looked simple, and I wasn't expecting it would be very spectacular, but the flavors are amazing! Leftovers went very fast and the family requested that I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I changed it around a bit by substituting mushrooms in for green peppers, sweet potatoes in for regular potatoes and Tony Chachere's in for Paprika because, let's be honest, you could put that stuff on anything. It was very good but I think, if you substituted mashed potatoes in for sliced potatoes, it would make a killer shepherd's pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States